Formula Renault Eurocup

Fenestraz Celebrates Title with Seventh Victory of 2017 in Spain

1 Mins read
Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

Following the chaotic race two earlier in the day at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, twenty-eight of the thirty-two cars made the start of the final race of the season, and having clinched the title in that earlier race, Sacha Fenestraz led from start to finish to end the season with a victory.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver secured a seventh victory of the year, the most of any driver, and despite constant pressure from Robert Shwartzman, the winner of the first two races of the weekend, Fenestraz took the chequered flag by 0.400 seconds, finishing the year 69.5 points clear of Will Palmer in the standings.

After being heavily involved in the first lap crash of race two, Max Defourny recovered to finish third, but the Belgian was unable to keep pace with the leading pair, finishing 6.455 seconds off the race leader, while Palmer could only finish fourth, meaning Fenestraz led home a trio of R-ace GP drivers.

Palmer almost lost fourth on the line, but Richard Verschoor ended up just 0.070 seconds back for MP Motorsport, while Gabriel Aubry was only a further 0.090 seconds back for Tech 1 Racing in sixth.

Max Fewtrell ended up seventh for Tech 1 Racing, and in doing so the Renault-backed Briton earned the Rookies title, while Alex Peroni, Jarno Opmeer and Aleksey Korneev claimed the final points of the season in eighth, ninth and tenth.

There was an early safety car period for a clash between Presley Martano and Ghislain Cordeel at turn eleven on the opening lap, but unlike in race two, it was a much more straightforward and clean race as the Eurocup season drew to a close in Spain.

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya Race 3 Result

[table id=2656 /]

Related posts
Formula Renault EurocupInterviews

Eurocup Rookie Champion Alex Quinn: “I did count myself very lucky to be on the grid in 2020”

4 Mins read
Speaking to The Checkered Flag, Alex Quinn says he was lucky to be on the grid for the 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup season before he went on to win the rookie title.
Formula Renault EurocupSeason Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup - Victor Martins Finally Brings Home the Title

6 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup season, a year where Victor Martins finally took the title in his third year in the championship.
Formula Renault Eurocup

Victor Martins ‘Very Confident for the Future’ after Clinching 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup Title

3 Mins read
Series champion Victor Martins and Rookie winner Alex Quinn reflect on their 2020 Formula Renault Eurocup triumphs.

Leave a Reply