British Superbike

Guintoli becomes tenth different race winner at The Cathedral of Speed

1 Mins read
Photo: Bennetts Suzuki

Sylvain Guintoli stormed to a hard earned victory at the Cathedral of Speed to take Bennetts Suzuki’s first victory, ahead of Josh Brookes and Leon Haslam.

Shane Byrne got off to a great start as he hit the front, but James Ellison never left his tail and followed him round, waiting for the right time to jump in front and take the lead. However, on lap three Guintoli hit the front for the first time with Haslam tucked behind him and it was all change until the penultimate lap as the Frenchman managed to get back in front and start to create a gap, leaving Brookes and Haslam to fight for second behind him.

Byrne had been pushed back to fifth after running wide with Haslam on the exit to turn one on lap sixteen. Although Haslam regained his position, Byrne stayed in fifth for the remaining laps, allowing Haslam to start to run away at the top of the standings. Fellow Showdown contenders Peter Hickman and Jake Dixon finished behind Byrne in sixth and seventh, with the final Showdown rider Jason O’Halloran ending the race in thirteenth, mathematically ending his chances of leaving Brands Hatch with the title.

The British Superbike Championship comes to a close at Brands Hatch on the 13th-15th October for what should be a thrilling triple header that will see the top five battle it out for the 2017 Championship title.

[table id=2550 /]

[table id=2551 /]

Related posts
British SuperbikeDakarRoad Racing

Isle of Man TT winner James Hillier set for Dakar Rally debut in 2023 Malle Moto

2 Mins read
After a delay, James Hillier will make his first Dakar Rally start in 2023. Riding in the Malle Moto class, he will be the first Isle of Man TT winner to challenge Dakar.
British Superbike

Exclusive interview with Ben Luxton

3 Mins read
Getting to know one of the UK’s rising talents. Here’s an exclusive interview with British Superstock 600 rider Ben Luxton
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.