EuroFormula Open

Scott Claims Another Victory as Troitskiy Closes on Rookie Crown

1 Mins read
Credit: GT Sport

Harrison Scott claimed yet another lights-to-flag victory in race two at the Circuito de Jerez on Sunday, his twelfth victory of an already amazing EuroFormula Open season.

After securing his eleventh pole position of the season on Sunday morning around the Spanish circuit, with Nikita Troitskiy joining him on the front row, the Briton retained the lead at the start and immediately pulled a gap, and was never threatened from behind.

Eighteen laps later, Scott took the chequered flag in his RP Motorsport machine 6.657 seconds clear of Troitskiy, who withstood pressure from behind from Devlin DeFrancesco to claim second for Drivex School to pull away further in the rookie championship, while the Canadian claimed his second podium of the weekend for Carlin with third.

Eliseo Martinez ran fourth early on for Teo Martin Motorsport but lost that position on the fifth lap to Jannes Fittje, with the German then pulling away from the Spaniard. However, Martinez withstood pressure thereafter from a trio of cars, with Simo Laaksonen, Alex Karkosik and Ameya Vaidyanathan in close attention.

Karkosik and Vaidyanathan clashed on the penultimate lap, leaving the latter stranded in the gravel trap at turn nine, promoting Cameron Das to eighth for Campos Racing ahead of Tarun Reddy of Drivex School, with Petru Florescu of Fortec Motorsports completing the top ten.

Ben Hingeley’s impressive points scoring run came to an end when the Briton was forced to pit his Fortec Motorsports machine early to replace a damaged front wing, as was Matheus Iorio, who found himself bouncing across the gravel trap on the exit of turn ten early on in his Campos Racing machine.

Nikita Troitskiy claimed second to move closer to the rookie title – Credit: GT Sport

Circuito de Jerez Race 2 Result

[table id=2579 /]

Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.

Leave a Reply