NASCAR Cup Series

Chase Elliott and #9 team penalized following Phoenix

1 Mins read
Credit: Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Wednesday has proven to be a rough day for Hendrick Motorsports.

Hours after longtime sponsor Lowe’s announced it would not return to the team and Jimmie Johnson‘s #48 car for 2019, Chase Elliott has received an L1-level penalty for a rear suspension infraction during Sunday’s TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway. He finished third in the race.

The team broke Section 20.14.2 of the rulebook: the #9 car’s truck trailing arm spacer/pinion angle shim mating surfaces was not “in complete complete contact at all points, at all times.” If the surfaces are applied differently, they could produce more sideforce and give the driver a larger aerodynamic advantage.

Crew chief Alan Gustafson was fined $50,000, while crew chief Josh Kirk will miss the next two races at Auto Club Speedway and Martinsville Speedway. Elliott also loses 25 points in the driver’s championship. He was originally sixteenth in points with 91, but the penalty drops him to twenty-third with 66.

It is Elliott’s first L1 penalty since the 2017 race at Chicagoland Speedway, when he was penalized for adding tape to his car. Said tape would increase downforce and therefore car performance.

Elliott is not the first Cup driver to be caught with this violation. After last year’s spring race at Richmond Raceway, winner Joey Logano faced an L1 penalty for the same pinion mating surface infraction, though it resulted in crew chief Todd Gordon’s suspension rather than his car chief like Elliott.

The #9 was not the only Cup team punished during the weekend. Five crew chiefs – Mike Wheeler (Denny Hamlin), Jeremy Bullins (Ryan Blaney), Brian Pattie (Ricky Stenhouse Jr.), Gordon (Logano), and Cole Pearn (Martin Truex Jr.) – suffered $10,000 worth of fines each for improperly-secured lug nuts.

The #9 team may appeal the ruling to the National Motorsports Appeal Panel.

Elliott will seek to make up his larger points deficit in next Sunday’s Auto Club 400. He has finished in the top ten in both of his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series starts (sixth and tenth) at the track.

1174 posts

About author
History major at San Jose State University and lifelong motorsports fan who covers NASCAR and the Stadium Super Trucks.
Related posts
NASCAR Cup Series

Kyle Larson wins Bristol Night Race as Harvick, Elliott clash

4 Mins read
As 12 drivers caught their breaths in advancing to the next round of the Cup playoffs, Kevin Harvick and Chase Elliott had choice words after tangling late.
NASCAR Cup Series

Mike Wheeler fully moves to 23XI director role, Bootie Barker becomes crew chief

2 Mins read
Bubba Wallace’s crew chief Mike Wheeler will become 23XI Racing’s director of competition on a permanent basis. Bootie Barker, who last worked as Ty Dillon’s CC in 2017, will take over the crew chiefing position.
NASCAR Cup Series

C-LA-sh, Gateway debut headline NASCAR Cup schedule changes for 2022

4 Mins read
The Busch Clash at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum and the arrival of World Wide Technology at Gateway are the major additions to the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series calendars, among other schedule changes.