Bastianini Prevails in Crash-Filled Catalan GP

by Louis Suddaby

Enea Bastianini claimed his first victory of the 2018 Moto3 season after surviving a chaotic Catalunya Grand Prix which was littered with crashes. In a race which saw Jorge Martin tumbled out of the lead, with two more pile-ups in the leading group late on, Bastianini was the last man standing to win ahead of championship leader Marco Bezzecchi.

In the early going, the race looked to be panning out in a very similar fashion to Mugello with Martin storming into the lead, looking to reduce the number of riders in the front group. The strategy seemed to have worked with only Tatsuki Suzuki keeping pace but once the Spaniard slid out at turn nine on lap nine, the Japanese youngster was left all alone and was quickly reeled in by the chasers.

A leading group of ten formed in Martin’s absence but three would be eliminated on lap 16 as Le Mans winner Albert Arenas outbraked himself into turn four, skittling out Nicolo Bulega and Aron Canet, while two more dropped out four laps from the finish as Jaume Masia tripped over Andrea Migno.

Through all of the mayhem, Bastianini emerged as the winner after a drag race towards the first corner went his way on the final lap. Bezzecchi’s superior exit from the final corner saw him pinch second from Gabriel Rodrigo with the Argentine taking his first ever Moto3 rostrum. John McPhee finished fourth after leading onto the final lap while Suzuki took fifth after his early advantage was wiped out.

Kaito Toba was sixth while Fabio Di Giannantonio recovered from 21st after an early error to salvage seventh, just ahead of rookie trio Alonso Lopez, Dennis Foggia and Raul Fernandez.


Moto3 Gran Premi Monster de Catalunya: (Result)

133. Enea BastianiniHondaLeopard Racing38:36.883
212. Marco BezzecchiKTMRedox PruestelGP+0.167
319. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+0.170
417. John McPheeKTMCIP - Green Power+0.257
524. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+0.639
627. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+6.801
721. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+6.872
872. Alonso LopezHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+6.600
910. Dennis FoggiaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+7.315
1025. Raul FernandezKTMAngel Nieto Team+7.507
1184. Jakub KornfeilKTMRedox PruestelGP+7.638
1276. Makar YurchenkoKTMCIP - Green Power+8.263
137. Adam NorrodinHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+15.256
1441. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+26.621
1511. Livio LoiKTMReale Avintia Academy 77+28.559
1665. Philipp OettlKTMSudmetal Schedl GP Racing+32.980
1748. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHondaLeopard Racing+2 Laps
NC5. Jaume MasiaKTMBester Capital Dubai+4 Laps
NC16. Andrea MignoKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+4 Laps
NC44. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+6 Laps
NC8. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+6 Laps
NC75. Albert ArenasKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+6 Laps
NC14. Tony ArbolinoHondaMarinelli Snipers Team+6 Laps
NC71. Ayumu SasakiHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+6 Laps
NC42. Marcos RamirezKTMBester Capital Dubai+7 Laps
NC88. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+13 Laps
NC22. Kazuki MasakiKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+17 Laps
NC40. Darryn BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+21 Laps
NS77. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy 77
NS23. Niccolo AntonelliHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More