Martin Overcomes Scare to Win in Germany

by Louis Suddaby
Jorge Martin - Sachsenring - Race WinnerJorge Martin - Sachsenring - Race Winner

Jorge Martin extended his Moto3 championship lead over Marco Bezzecchi with victory in the German Grand Prix at the Sachsenring. The Spaniard recovered from a collision with Gresini team-mate Fabio Di Giannantonio to take his fifth win of the season, two and a half seconds clear of Bezzecchi in second.

Having failed to break away in the early stages, Martin found himself at the front of a 19-rider group which began to shrink on lap 16 as Di Giannantonio made a critical error at turn one. The Italian lost control on a bump before sliding into his team-mate, pushing the Spaniard wide. Although Martin was able to continue, Di Giannantonio was forced to retire, costing him valuable championship points.

Having quickly regained the lead, Martin soon took full control of the race with his pace too hot for Bezzecchi to handle, the PruestelGP rider eventually losing the slipstream with five laps to go. This left the title contender with a fierce battle on his hands to maintain second but he narrowly held off John McPhee by five hundredths of a second.

Marcos Ramirez was fourth ahead of Aron Canet, the only other title challenger to score, while Jaume Masia rounded out the top six. Jakub Kornfeil was seventh ahead of home favourite Philipp Oettl while Raul Fernandez made a sensational recovery after being pushed off track early on, taking ninth from Ayumu Sasaki.


Moto3 Pramac Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland: (Result)

188. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto339:36.427
212. Marco BezzecchiKTMRedox PruestelGP+2.515
317. John McPheeKTMCIP - Green Power+2.571
442. Marcos RamirezKTMBester Capital Dubai+2.936
544. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+3.028
65. Jaume MasiaKTMBester Capital Dubai+3.341
784. Jakub KornfeilKTMRedox PruestelGP+3.532
865. Philipp OettlKTMSudmetal Schedl GP Racing+4.886
925. Raul FernandezKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+5.383
1071. Ayumu SasakiHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+5.486
117. Adam NorrodinHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+5.610
1216. Andrea MignoKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+9.938
1348. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHondaLeopard Racing+10.027
148. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+10.360
1522. Kazuki MasakiKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+10.467
1623. Niccolo AntonelliHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+11.514
1714. Tony ArbolinoHondaMarinelli Snipers Team+11.712
1827. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+20.039
1910. Dennis FoggiaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+31.237
2043. Luca GrunwaldKTMFreudenberg Racing Team+32.768
2181. Stefano NepaKTMCIP - Green Power+41.058
NC19. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+3 Laps
NC32. Ai OguraHondaAsia Talent Team+3 Laps
NC33. Enea BastianiniHondaLeopard Racing+5 Laps
NC72. Alonso LopezHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+5 Laps
NC75. Albert ArenasKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+7 Laps
NC77. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy 77+9 Laps
NC41. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+11 Laps
NC21. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+12 Laps
NC24. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+22 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More