Martin Wins at Assen to Take Championship Lead

by Louis Suddaby
Jorge Martin - Assen - Race Winner

Jorge Martin moved back into the lead of the Moto3 world championship with victory in Sunday’s Dutch TT at Assen. The Spaniard took a narrow win over Aron Canet and Enea Bastianini while pre-race championship leader Marco Bezzecchi crashed out of fourth on the final lap, causing him to drop two points behind Martin.

Once again, Martin’s early tactic of streaking clear and dropping as many riders from the leading group as possible paid dividends, with only four riders able to give chase. Canet and Bastianini were the immediate challengers, joined by Bezzecchi, while CIP’s John McPhee also disputed the lead until an unfortunate crash at De Bult on the penultimate lap.

Martin had made the decisive break by this stage, opening up a 0.7s lead after passing Bezzecchi on lap 20, with the Italian’s KTM too far adrift to pick up a slipstream. From there, the PruestelGP rider was shuffled back to fourth by Canet and Bastianini before a front-end washout at Mandeveen on the very last lap saw him fail to pick up any points whatsoever.

Behind the leading trio, Jaume Masia took a career-best fourth after passing the sole remaining PruestelGP KTM of Jakub Kornfeil at the final chicane. Lorenzo Dalla Porta secured his best result since the opening round in Qatar with sixth ahead of Darryn Binder and Gabriel Rodrigo while Fabio Di Giannantonio missed the opportunity to take the championship himself after trailing home in ninth.


Moto3 Motul TT Assen: (Result)

188. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto337:56.485
244. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.665
333. Enea BastianiniHondaLeopard Racing+0.718
45. Jaume MasiaKTMBester Capital Dubai+10.842
584. Jakub KornfeilKTMRedox PruestelGP+10.953
648. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHondaLeopard Racing+11.321
740. Darryn BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+11.343
819. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+11.737
921. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+11.756
1042. Marcos RamirezKTMBester Capital Dubai+11.766
118. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+11.777
1210. Dennis FoggiaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+15.973
1324. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+23.283
1475. Albert ArenasKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+23.767
1523. Niccolo AntonelliHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+23.827
1627. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+23.850
1714. Tony ArbolinoHondaMarinelli Snipers Team+24.040
1865. Philipp OettlKTMSudmetal Schedl GP Racing+25.802
1971. Ayumu SasakiHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+27.097
2022. Kazuki MasakiKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+27.196
217. Adam NorrodinHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+27.260
2241. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+27.403
2332. Ai OguraHondaAsia Talent Team+27.644
2411. Livio LoiKTMReale Avintia Academy 77+28.039
2572. Alonso LopezHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+30.519
2616. Andrea MignoKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+34.938
2781. Stefano NepaKTMCIP - Green Power+52.070
2818. Ryan van de LagemaatKTMLamotec Lagemaat Racing+1 Lap
NC12. Marco BezzecchiKTMRedox PruestelGP+1 Lap
NC17. John McPheeKTMCIP - Green Power+2 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More