Di Giannantonio Ends Wait for Maiden Win

by Louis Suddaby
Fabio Di Giannantonio - Brno - Race Winner

Fabio Di Giannantonio finally claimed his first Moto3 Grand Prix victory at Brno to revive his world championship hopes. The Italian, who has endured many close-calls when chasing victory, including being stripped of the win after the chequered flag at Le Mans, edged out Aron Canet and home favourite Jakub Kornfeil to take a popular first win.

Di Giannantonio was the sole representative for Gresini in the absence of injured championship leader Jorge Martin but most of the Czech supporters had their eyes on polesitter Kornfeil. The PruestelGP rider briefly opened up a one-second advantage early on but once the chasing pack had closed in, a leading group of over 20 riders was established.

As the race entered its latter stages, three had emerged as the strongest contenders for victory with long-time leader Aron Canet following Kornfeil and Di Giannantonio. The decisive move came at the start of the final lap with Fabio outbraking the Czech into turn three, a move that Canet would also carry out to snatch second moments later. With his two immediate rivals delaying each other, Di Giannantonio had enough breathing space to claim victory ahead of Canet with Kornfeil taking a well-deserved podium.

Enea Bastianini battled his way to fourth ahead of Gabriel Rodrigo while Marco Bezzecchi kept his composure to take a hard-fought sixth, a result that moves him back into the championship lead. Marcos Ramirez was seventh ahead of Jerez winner Philipp Oettl, another rider to lead at one stage, while Le Mans winner Albert Arenas saw off Lorenzo Dalla Porta for ninth.


Moto3 Monster Energy Grand Prix Ceske Republiky: (Result)

121. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto339:09.124
244. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.112
384. Jakub KornfeilKTMRedox PruestelGP+0.339
433. Enea BastianiniHondaLeopard Racing+0.560
519. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+0.771
612. Marco BezzecchiKTMRedox PruestelGP+0.896
742. Marcos RamirezKTMBester Capital Dubai+1.030
865. Philipp OettlKTMSudmetal Schedl GP Racing+1.097
975. Albert ArenasKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+2.034
1048. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHondaLeopard Racing+2.056
1123. Niccolo AntonelliHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+2.093
1210. Dennis FoggiaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+2.359
1322. Kazuki MasakiKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+2.517
1424. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+2.616
1514. Tony ArbolinoHondaMarinelli Snipers Team+2.770
1641. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+3.674
175. Jaume MasiaKTMBester Capital Dubai+4.618
1872. Alonso LopezHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+4.870
198. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+4.942
2016. Andrea MignoKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+4.954
2177. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy 77+12.923
2271. Ayumu SasakiHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+12.942
2340. Darryn BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+12.956
2415. Filip SalacKTMCuna de Campeones Czech Talent+41.511
NC7. Adam NorrodinHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+1 Lap
NC81. Stefano NepaKTMCIP - Green Power+4 Laps
NC17. John McPheeKTMCIP - Green Power+9 Laps
NC27. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+16 Laps
NS88. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3Injured

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More