Kornfeil Takes Memorable Maiden Pole at Brno

by Louis Suddaby
Jakub Kornfeil - Brno - Pole Position

Jakub Kornfeil claimed the first pole position of his Grand Prix career with a sensational late lap in front of his home crowd at Brno. The Czech rider, taking part in his 155th Grand Prix this weekend, judged his tactics to perfection in the dying seconds while so many of his rivals fluffed their lines, earning him a memorable maiden pole.

The weekend had started in hugely dramatic fashion with championship leader Jorge Martin suffering a highside late in FP1. The Spaniard was taken away in an ambulance and later diagnosed with a broken wrist, ruling him out of this weekend’s race and leaving him a serious doubt for the upcoming Austrian GP. The only consolation for the no.88 was the performance of title rival Marco Bezzecchi who will start down in fourteenth.

Fabio Di Giannantonio was upholding Gresini honour in qualifying, setting the early benchmark of a 2:08.473, but the Italian saw any hopes of pole disappear with a critical error. With a slipstream so valuable at Brno, most of the riders held back in the garage, waiting for a faster rider to exit the pitlane. Recognising this, Gresini held Di Giannantonio back but in doing so, they failed to get back out in time to beat the chequered flag. As it turned out, over half the field were caught out in identical fashion.

Four key riders were able to start their final flying lap in time and were rewarded with the front row spots on the grid. Kornfeil made full use of a slipstream from John McPhee’s KTM to grab pole, four tenths quicker than the Briton, while Marcos Ramirez pipped Philipp Oettl to the final place on the front row.

Di Giannantonio slipped to fifth ahead of Aron Canet and Gabriel Rodrigo while Nakarin Atiratphuvapat took a career-best eighth, edging out 2014 winner Niccolo Antonelli and Enea Bastianini.


Moto3 Monster Energy Grand Prix Ceske Republiky: (Qualifying)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
184. Jakub KornfeilKTMRedox PruestelGP2:07.981
217. John McPheeKTMCIP - Green Power2:08.400
342. Marcos RamirezKTMBester Capital Dubai2:08.426
465. Philipp OettlKTMSudmetal Schedl GP Racing2:08.445
521. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto32:08.473
644. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,02:08.556
719. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider2:08.778
841. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia2:08.885
923. Niccolo AntonelliHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse2:09.004
1033. Enea BastianiniHondaLeopard Racing2:09.078
115. Jaume MasiaKTMBester Capital Dubai2:09.144
1222. Kazuki MasakiKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider2:09.159
1310. Dennis FoggiaKTMSky Racing Team VR462:09.162
1412. Marco BezzecchiKTMRedox PruestelGP2:09.205
1575. Albert ArenasKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto32:09.333
1614. Tony ArbolinoHondaMarinelli Snipers Team2:09.494
1748. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHondaLeopard Racing2:09.524
188. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR462:09.591
1940. Darryn BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:09.709
2027. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia2:09.807
217. Adam NorrodinHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing2:10.146
2216. Andrea MignoKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto32:10.274
2381. Stefano NepaKTMCIP - Green Power2:10.408
2477. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy 772:10.439
2572. Alonso LopezHondaEstrella Galicia 0,02:11.049
2615. Filip SalacKTMCuna de Campeones Czech Talent2:11.119
NQ24. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra CorseNo Time
NQ71. Ayumu SasakiHondaPetronas Sprinta RacingNo Time
NQ88. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3No Time

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More