Dominant Lorenzo Claims Misano Pole

1 Mins read
Jorge Lorenzo - Photo Credit: Ducati
Jorge Lorenzo - Photo Credit: Ducati

Jorge Lorenzo broke his own Misano pole position record to claim pole position for the San Marino Grand Prix. The Spaniard saw off surprise package Jack Miller to take his fourth Misano pole position in five seasons while reigning champion Marc Marquez could only manage fifth after a scrappy Q2 session.

With Lorenzo in such supreme form, much of the drama was found elsewhere although that shouldn’t detract from a magnificent display from the Ducati rider. Lorenzo’s opening lap of Q2 immediately launched him onto provisional pole and although his 1:31.763 was already good enough for top spot, that didn’t stop the no.99 going even quicker on his second run, clocking the fastest ever two-wheeled lap of Misano.

Meanwhile, Marquez was pushing his Honda to the limit in his efforts to keep pace with his compatriot and the championship leader overstepped the limit at turn 15, losing the front end of his RC213V. This forced Marquez into a desperate dash to his pit-box in scenes reminiscent of his Austin pit-lane sprint of 2015. Although he did make it back in time for a last-ditch attempt, Marc wouldn’t improve on his own 1:32.016.

This would open the door for the sensational Miller who broke into the 1:31s himself to secure second, while a late flyer from Maverick Vinales saw him deny Ducati a lockout of the front row, pipping Andrea Dovizioso to third. Marquez dropped to fifth while Cal Crutchlow will start alongside in sixth despite a crash of his own at turn one.

Home favourite Valentino Rossi will start seventh ahead of Danilo Petrucci and Johann Zarco while Alex Rins completed the top ten, just ahead of Q2 qualifiers Dani Pedrosa and Franco Morbidelli.


2018 GP Octo di San Marino e Della Riviera di Rimini (Qualifying)

[table id=3398 /]

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotoGPNitro Rallycross

KymiRing project unravels with bankruptcy, major series exits

2 Mins read
With KymiRing’s track builders declaring bankruptcy, Motocross World Championship relocating its date, MotoGP repeatedly postponing its race there, and Nitro Rallycross cancelling its visit, the Finnish circuit’s future is anything but bright.
FIA WECFormula 1MotoGP

Eau Rouge Grandstand Opens at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps

2 Mins read
After two years of track renovations, the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps has opened its highly anticipated Eau Rogue / Raidillon grandstand.

Dani Pedrosa to make car racing debut in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe

1 Mins read
MotoGP veteran Dani Pedrosa will race cars for the first time when he competes in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe for FFF Racing Team alongside Antonin Borga.