British Rally Championship

Revamped 2019 BRC Calendar Announced

2 Mins read
Photo Credit Prestone MSA BRC

The 2019 Prestone MSA British Rally Championship calendar has been announced, with six events taking place over six territories including the West Cork Rally, which makes its BRC debut.

Beginning with the returning Cambrian Rally, which will use several Wales Rally GB stages as part of the itinerary in February, the championship then heads to the Republic of Ireland and the Quality Hotel West Cork Rally for the first time in mid-March.

Next up for the BRC is the traditional event on the calendar, the Pirelli International based in Carlisle, which next year will become the third round of the championship and again will be a one day event. Round three takes place on April 27.

After a mid-season break of just over a month, the crews will again head overseas for the Ypres Rally in Belgium with round four of the championship taking place on June 28-29 before the penultimate round back in the UK on August 17 with the John Mullholland Motors Ulster Rally again returning for 2019.

Rhys Yates / Alex Lee – Skoda Fabia R5. Credit: Prestone MSA BRC

The final round of the season sees the BRC visit Scotland, with the championship concluding on September 14 2019 with the Armstrong Galloway Hills Rally based in Castle Douglas.

The 2019 calendar has an even split of asphalt and gravel events and on three of the six events will see the BRC competitors go up against other championships from around Europe.

BRC Championship Manager Iain Campbell said on the revamped 2019 calendar: “The announcement of the calendar shows our commitment in listening to what our competitors want – furious competition from the start but not overly demanding in the amount of time away from work or home life.”

“It also brings us into head-to-head competition with the Irish Tarmac Championship on two occasions and also with the Belgium Rally Championship in June.  This lifts the pace of everyone, as we all want the bragging rights as winners on these rallies. We believe we have a series that matches people’s aspirations, budget and competitive desires to be the best and to be a British Rally Champion.”

The 2019 Prestone MSA British Rally Championship calendar:

16 February – Visit Conwy Cambrian Rally, Llandudno, Wales

16/17 March – Quality Hotel West Cork Rally, Clonakilty, Republic of Ireland

27 April – Pirelli International Rally, Carlisle, England                                        

28/29 June – Renties Ypres Rally, Ypres, Belgium                                                              

17 August – Ulster Rally, Antrim, Northern Ireland

14 September – The Armstrong Galloway Hills Rally, Castle Douglas, Scotland

Related posts
British Rally ChampionshipEuropean Rally ChampionshipFeaturesFIA World Rally ChampionshipJunior WRCNational RallyOpinionRallyWRC2WRC3

FEATURE: The New Rally Pyramid - Everything You Need To Know

5 Mins read
The FIA have recently introduced a new rallying pyramid into the sport and this handy guide will explain what each class is all about.
British Rally Championship

Seven Round 2021 British Rally Championship Calendar Announced

2 Mins read
The 2021 British Rally Championship will take place over seven events, with two of the rounds being completely new to the series.
British Rally ChampionshipEuropean Rally ChampionshipFIA World Rally ChampionshipWRC2WRC3

Revamped C3 Rally2 Revealed by Citroen Racing

2 Mins read
Citroen Racing have revealed a new for 2021 C3 Rally2, that builds on the success of the C3 R5 while aiming to reduce running costs for customers.

Leave a Reply