Arenas Wins Chaotic Moto3 Classic in Australia

by Louis Suddaby
Albert Arenas - Photo Credit:

Albert Arenas took a remarkable last lap victory as Phillip Island produced one of the greatest Moto3 races of all time on Sunday. Arenas pipped Fabio Di Giannantonio by 0.052s as the Italian revived his title challenge after a race which saw Jorge Martin finish fifth while Marco Bezzecchi was skittled out by another rider for the second time in three races.

Bezzecchi had made terrific progress from fifteenth on the grid, even taking the lead on lap eight, but with over 20 riders in the leading group, positions were changing corner by corner. Unfortunately for the Italian, he found himself in the wrong place at the wrong time on lap 11 as Gabriel Rodrigo outbraked himself into the MG hairpin, sending him straight into the no.12 KTM and eliminating both on the spot.

The chaos didn’t end there with Bester Capital Dubai riders Marcos Ramirez and Jaume Masia tangling at Stoner corner with the former high-siding into the path of his team-mate while Tony Arbolino and Dennis Foggia wiped each other out on the penultimate lap as the disputed second place. Martin had fought his way to the front by this stage but the final lap would transform everything.

Martin’s tactics created an extraordinary image as the championship leader backed off entering the home straight, backing up the riders behind. Arenas, who started the last lap in eleventh spot, slipstreamed his way through to the lead by turn one and a collision between Martin and Phillip Oettl provided him with just enough breathing space to hold it to the finish.

Di Giannantonio ghosted through to second in the end with Sky VR46 teenager Celestino Vietti emerged from nowhere to claim a sensational third in just his second ever GP. Tatsuki Suzuki took fourth on the line ahead of Martin and Aron Canet while Adam Norrodin, Enea Bastianini, Jakub Kornfeil and Ayumu Sasaki completed a top ten covered by just four tenths of a second.


Moto3 Michelin Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix (Result)

175. Albert ArenasKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto337:48.073
221. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+0.052
331. Celestino ViettiKTMSky Racing Team VR46+0.059
424. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+0.081
588. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+0.099
644. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.154
77. Adam NorrodinHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+0.188
833. Enea BastianiniHondaLeopard Racing+0.235
984. Jakub KornfeilKTMRedox PruestelGP+0.328
1071. Ayumu SasakiHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+0.406
1172. Alonso LopezHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.575
1240. Darryn BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+0.889
1316. Andrea MignoKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+0.987
1417. John McPheeKTMCIP - Green Power+0.989
1565. Philipp OettlKTMSudmetal Schedl GP Racing+2.148
1655. Yari MontellaHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+34.700
1781. Stefano NepaKTMCIP - Green Power+34.969
1841. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+39.367
1927. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+48.054
2077. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy 77+48.970
NC14. Tony ArbolinoHondaMarinelli Snipers Team+2 Laps
NC10. Dennis FoggiaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+2 Laps
NC42. Marcos RamirezKTMBester Capital Dubai+10 Laps
NC5. Jaume MasiaKTMBester Capital Dubai+10 Laps
NC48. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHondaLeopard Racing+11 Laps
NC12. Marco BezzecchiKTMRedox PruestelGP+13 Laps
NC19. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+13 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More