Iannone Tops FP2 as Crutchlow Suffers Injury

by Louis Suddaby
Andrea Iannone - Photo Credit: MotoGP.com

Andrea Iannone moved to the top of the timesheets in FP2 at Phillip Island but the Australian Grand Prix will continue without Cal Crutchlow who has been forced to pull out with an ankle injury. Four different manufacturers made up the top five places in a tight session with riders keen to secure a Q2 spot but Suzuki’s Iannone will go into Saturday’s third session with a narrow advantage.

Iannone was on the pace throughout the afternoon session but the headlines were unfortunately made by Crutchlow who lost control of his LCR Honda at Doohan’s corner. The Briton lost the front end going through the high-speed right-hander and was stretchered away from the scene before being taken to the medical centre. Crutchlow was later diagnosed with a fractured right ankle and will undergo surgery at Melbourne Alfred City Hospital.

To compound a miserable afternoon for the satellite Honda squad, team-mate Takaaki Nakagami also ended his afternoon with a crash, tumbling at Siberia. This saw him miss out on the chance to improve in the latter stages as riders aimed to secure a top ten place, bearing in mind that rain is forecast for Saturday’s final session.

In the end, Iannone finished on top with a 1:29.131 on the final lap of the session, relegating Danilo Petrucci to second overall. FP1 pacesetter Maverick Vinales continued to show promising pace in third with Andrea Dovizioso fourth, just ahead of Crutchlow who will take no further part. Johann Zarco was sixth ahead of Marc Marquez who had a quiet afternoon following the crash which ended his morning session.

Home favourite Jack Miller was eighth ahead of Alex Rins on the second Suzuki while Valentino Rossi held onto the last provisional Q2 spot, despite failing to improve in the final few minutes.


2018 Michelin Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix (Combined Times)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time 
129. Andrea IannoneSuzukiTeam Suzuki ECSTAR1:29.131FP2
29. Danilo PetrucciDucatiAlma Pramac Racing1:29.291FP2
325. Maverick VinalesYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:29.354FP2
44. Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team1:29.406FP2
535. Cal CrutchlowHondaLCR Honda Castrol1:29.616FP2
65. Johann ZarcoYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:29.686FP2
793. Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team1:29.739FP2
843. Jack MillerDucatiAlma Pramac Racing1:29.838FP2
942. Alex RinsSuzukiTeam Suzuki ECSTAR1:29.918FP2
1046. Valentino RossiYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:30.133FP2
1155. Hafizh SyahrinYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:30.179FP2
1238. Bradley SmithKTMRed Bull KTM Factory Racing1:30.346FP2
1326. Dani PedrosaHondaRepsol Honda Team1:30.472FP2
1443. Pol EspargaroKTMRed Bull KTM Factory Racing1:30.545FP2
1519. Alvaro BautistaDucatiDucati Team1:30.734FP2
1641. Aleix EspargaroApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:30.736FP2
1717. Karel AbrahamDucatiAngel Nieto Team1:30.772FP1
1821. Franco MorbidelliHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:30.787FP2
1930. Takaaki NakagamiHondaLCR Honda IDEMITSU1:30.830FP2
2010. Xavier SimeonDucatiReale Avintia Racing1:31.275FP2
2112. Thomas LuthiHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:31.539FP2
2281. Jordi TorresDucatiReale Avintia Racing1:31.570FP2
2345. Scott ReddingApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:31.941FP1
247. Mike JonesDucatiAngel Nieto Team1:33.633FP2

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More