Shows and Events

Autosport Annual Awards Recognises 2018’s Talent

1 Mins read
Credit: Autosport / LAT

A star studded night at the Autosport Awards saw fifteen trophies handed out as the Motorsport community rallied together for an end of year show.

The biggest prize of the evening, the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, handed to a rising British star, went the way of Tom Gamble, who beat out three other drivers.

Gamble, along with; Formula Renault Eurocup champion Max Fewtrell, 2018 British F4 champion Kiern Jewiss and 2017 champion Jamie Caroline, took part in a number of physical tests and interviews last month, with the judges picking the BRDC British F3 race winner to follow in the footsteps of Jenson Button, David Coulthard and last years winner Dan Ticktum.

Ticktum himself picked up the National Driver of the Year, having achieved his second Macau Grand Prix win and finishing runner-up in the FIA European F3 Championship this year.

British success continued with Lewis Hamilton collecting both the British Competition Driver of the Year and the International Racing Driver of the Year, presented by Pirelli. His team Mercedes AMG Petronas would also win Racing Car of the Year and Team Principal Toto Wolff collecting the John Boster Award.

Elsewhere, Marc Márquez won Rider of the Year, with Sébastien Ogier winning Rally Driver of the Year. Ogier’s Ford Fiesta WRC also won Rally Car of the Year as Charles Leclerc won Richard Mille Rookie of the Year after an incredible first season in Formula One.

The Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future Award would go to Owen Heaney of the Imperial College London. The prize awards him with a two-year placement in an accelerated development programme at the Williams F1 team.

Motorsport Network’s President, James Allen said, “It’s been a glorious evening of celebration of the achievements across our sport from all four corners of the world. Once again, we have helped to recognise the achievements of the legends of the sport while at the same time setting new careers on their way with an unprecedented level of backing and support.

Other award winners are listed below.

[table id=3661 /]

Related posts
Shows and EventsSportscars

E-Type celebrates 60th Birthday with a special anniversary race

1 Mins read
In 2021, The Silverstone Classic will be celebrating their delayed 30th anniversary and the E-Type will be celebrating it’s 60th Birthday in style
Shows and Events

Silverstone Classic Cancelled for 2020

2 Mins read
The 2020 Silverstone Classic has been cancelled with organisers coming to a safety decision in light of the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Shows and Events

Goodwood Festival of Speed postponed due to coronavirus crisis

1 Mins read
The Goodwood Festival of Speed is the latest motorsport event to be postponed due to the global COVID-19 crisis.

Leave a Reply