Formula 3

Marcus Armstrong Fastest in Day One of Formula 3 Testing

1 Mins read
Marcus Armstrong: FIA F3 Testing - Circuit Paul Ricard
Credit: FIA Formula 3 Championship

PREMA Racing‘s Marcus Armstrong set the fastest lap of the FIA Formula 3 Championship pre-season testing at Circuit Paul Ricard.

The Ferrari Driver Academy driver set the fastest time in the afternoon session to top the overall timings from Lirim Zendeli and fellow FDA member Robert Shwartzman.

Running got underway in the morning by Trident trio, Niko KariPedro Piquet and Devlin DeFrancesco as they set about putting in their installation laps.

The pack followed suit with all cars having tested the French track in the opening thirty minutes.

As the clock reached the hour mark, Raoul Hyman set the pace but Renault Sport Academy‘s Christian Lundgaard went top from Red Bull Junior Team driver Jüri Vips.

The ART Grand Prix driver managed to find some extra pace to break into the 1m51s before a red flag halted proceedings for a technical assessment.

Action resumed twenty minutes later, with Leonardo Pulcini going top but Lundgaard managed to improve further to reclaim P1.

The second red flag of the day was brought out after Richard Verschoor and DeFrancesco after the MP Motorsport and Trident drivers stopped at Turns 1 and 7 simultaneously.

With running restarted, Lundgaard and Pulcini dipped into the 1m50s with the Dane on top.

Shwartzman claimed third just ahead of Niko Kari.

Vips, Ma FewtrellAlex Peroni, Piquet, Verschoor and Logan Sargeant completed the top ten.

A two hour lunch break followed, with proceedings resuming with Andreas Estner getting the running underway.

The early pace was set by Jehan Daruvala before a brief red flag was called due to Saegeant having stopped at Turn 7.

At the half way  point, Yuki Tsundoa claimed the fastest time ahead of Sebastian Fernandez and Liam Lawson. 

Just before another red flag for Vips having also stopped at Turn 7, Armstrong pumped in his first to be quickest.

In the dying stages, Zendeli moved into second whilst Shwartzman found extra pace to take third at the flag.

Pulcini, Verschoor, Simo Laaksonen, Fernandez, Lundgaard, David Beckmann and Daruvala completed the top ten.

Day two of testing will start tomorrow at 9:00 am local time.

FIA Formula 3 Le Castellet Test – Day 1: Morning Session Results 

[table id=3708 /]

FIA Formula 3 Le Castellet Test – Day 1: Afternoon Session Results 

[table id=3709 /]

Related posts
Formula 3

Super Smolyar wins first race of the season after late race safety car

2 Mins read
Aleksandr Smolyar made his decisive move early on and he took that all the way to the chequered flag as he won the first F3 race of 2021.
Formula 3

Hauger converts practice pace to pole in F3 season opener

1 Mins read
Dennis Hauger sweeps Friday by taking the first pole of the year in Barcelona. Jonny Edgar has reverse grid pole for tomorrow’s first race.
Formula 3

Hauger leads the way in practice as Formula 3 returns to action

1 Mins read
Hauger holds the advantage ahead of this afternoon’s qualifying in Barcelona.

Leave a Reply