NASCAR Cup Series

2019 Monster Energy Cup All-Star Race format revealed

1 Mins read
Credit: Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

On Wednesday, NASCAR revealed the format for the 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup All-Star Race in May. In addition to the race length being updated, changes include edits to the car setup that may appear in the Generation 7 car scheduled for 2021.

The race will be split into four stages of 30, two 20, and 15 laps; the final stage is five laps longer than in 2018. Over the first three stages, all laps will count regardless of flag conditions across the first three stages, while the fourth stage will only count green-flag laps. Standard overtime rules apply to Stages 1–3, while Stage #4 must end under green.

On the technical side, the All-Star cars will feature a carbon fiber splitter/pan to address sensitivities in ride height and stabilising the aerodynamics, allowing for better performance when racing in traffic. The cars will also have a radiator exit duct through the hood to isolate engine temperatures from aerodynamics.

“Throughout its history, the Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race has provided a platform to try new and innovative ideas, some of which we have incorporated on a full-time basis,” NASCAR Executive Vice President Steve O’Donnell stated. “Last year’s All-Star rules package resulted in one of the most exciting All-Star races in history. With a similar package and added elements that we could see in the next generation race car, we expect another must-watch event.”

Credit: NASCAR

To compete in the All-Star Race, a driver must have won a points race during the 2018 season or in the 2019 races leading up to the event. Former All-Star race winners and series champions who are currently competing full-time are also eligible to race. Those who do not meet either criteria must use the Monster Energy Open to advance to the All-Star Race, which is accomplished by winning any of the Open’s three stages or the Fan Vote.

As of the latest event (Richmond Raceway), fifteen drivers are currently eligible to compete in the All-Star Race: Kyle Busch, Denny HamlinBrad KeselowskiJoey Logano, and Martin Truex Jr. have won races in 2019; Aric AlmirolaRyan BlaneyClint BowyerKurt BuschChase Elliott, reigning All-Star winner Kevin HarvickJimmie JohnsonErik JonesKyle Larson, and Ryan Newman won races in 2018.

Related posts
NASCAR Cup Series

Eight NASCAR Cup races to hold practice and qualifying

2 Mins read
For the 2021 NASCAR Cup season, eight races will have practice and qualifying beforehand: the Daytona 500, Bristol Dirt, Circuit of the Americas, Coca-Cola 600, Nashville, Road America, Indianapolis road coure, and Phoenix.
NASCAR Cup Series

Kaulig Racing to run 2021 Cup superspeedways, road courses

2 Mins read
With plans to run full-time in the NASCAR Cup Series in the future, Kaulig Racing will prepare by running the superspeedway and road course races in 2021, including the Daytona 500.
NASCAR Cup SeriesNASCAR Truck Series

Antony Alfredo joins McDowell, and Front Row in Cup, Ragan returns for Daytona, Gilliland returns for Trucks

4 Mins read
Part-time NASCAR Xfinity driver Anthony Alfredo will race for Cup Rookie of the Year with Front Row Motorsports alongside the returning Michael McDowell. Todd Gilliland will return on the Truck side, and David Ragan is back for the Daytona 500.

Leave a Reply