Tiago Monteiro loses pole position after penalty

1 Mins read
Image Credit: DPPI/Florent Gooden

A further four drivers have been penalised by the FIA World Touring Car Cup stewards for driving unnecessarily slowly in free practice two.

The most significant of which is Tiago Monteiro, who was scheduled to start race one from pole position. Instead, he’ll be dropped back to fourth place on the grid, handing pole to Honda stablemate, Esteban Guerrieri.

Alongside the Portuguese, Aurelien Panis and Mehdi Bennani will also serve three-place grid penalties, placing them in 22nd and 23rd respectively.

Finally, wildcard entry Jim Ka To was also punished, dropping the Hong Kong racer down to the very back of the grid.

In addition to this, Andy Priaulx, Gordon Shedden, Jean-Karl Vernay, Kevin Ceccon, Ma Qing Hua, Nicky Catsburg, Niels Langeveld, Ritomo Miyata, Ryuichiro Tomita, Thed Björk, Yann Ehrlacher and Yvan Muller have all received reprimands for the same offence. However, as their misdemeanours were deemed to be less severe, they have avoided any form of grid penalty.

264 posts

About author
Juggling university essays with news and race reports from the World Touring Car Cup, TCR Europe and the TCR UK Series for
Related posts
Formula 1WTCR

How touring car success got Priaulx an F1 drive

3 Mins read
Andy Priaulx is one of the most decorated touring car drivers of all-time, but that didn’t stop him stamping his mark on F1 despite never racing.
FIA World Rally ChampionshipRallyWTCR

Hyundai Motorsport gets back into business

2 Mins read
Hyundai Motorsport have outlied their plans for the summer despite the WRC and WTCR seasons only starting in September at the earliest.
Formula 1WTCR

Touring car legend Yvan Muller - Formula 1 was my target before I realised there is a life outside of it

2 Mins read
In a recent podcast appearance, Yvan Muller revealed that he wasn’t even supposed to be on the grid for the 2018 WCTR season and more.