Formula 2

Sette Câmara snatches pole for Feature Race in Abu Dhabi

1 Mins read
Sérgio Sette Câmara - DAMS in the 2019 FIA Formula 2 Championship - Yas Marina Circuit - Practice
Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd.

Sérgio Sette Câmara has qualified on pole position for the FIA Formula 2 Feature Race in Abu Dhabi.

The DAMS pilot was third in the first run, as Callum Ilott had provisional pole to his name, a tenth ahead of second place Louis Delétraz going into the final fifteen minutes of the session.

The last run saw improvements from some, including Nyck de Vries. The Dutchman was able to jump up to fifth behind Nicholas Latifi. Sette Câmara was able to leap into first position ahead of Ilott and Delétraz.

Meanwhile, Sean Gelael spun his PREMA Racing on the exit of the penultimate corner, stalling his car as a consequence and other drivers having to back out of their final flying laps when the yellow flags were being waved.

Luca Ghiotto was one of the unlucky bystanders and will line up eleventh for what looks to be his last race weekend in the series.

Sette Câmara though takes his third F2 pole and his second of the season. The four extra points means that he has closed the gap to Ghiotto and Latifi in the battle to finish second in the Drivers’ Championship.

The Feature Race begins tomorrow after Formula 1 qualifying at 14:45 GMT.

[table id=4200 /]

Related posts
Formula 2

Viscaal to make F2 debut with Trident, Sato returns

2 Mins read
19 down, one to go. Just MP Motorsport are left to announce their second F2 driver after Trident revealed their pairing for 2021.
Formula 2

Samaia and Beckmann make up Charouz F2 team

2 Mins read
Beckmann makes his debut in Formula 2 while Samaia prepares for his second year in the series.
Formula 2Formula 3

Alpine announce academy drivers; Zhou, Lundgaard stay put, Martins & Collet in F3 with MP

2 Mins read
A big chunk of the Formula 2 and 3 grids have been unveiled as Alpine announce their driver academy for 2021.

Leave a Reply