F3 Asian Championship

Ukyo Sasahara on Pole for Asian F3 Race 1 in Malaysia

1 Mins read
Credit: F3 Asian Championship

Reigning Asian F3 champion Ukyo Sasahara (Hitech Grand Prix) is on pole for the first race of the 2019-2020 Asian Formula 3 Championship in Sepang, Malaysia. Joining Sasahara on the front row in second place is Chinese driver Kuai Yu (Zen Motorsport).

The 2019 Asian Formula Renault champion Joey Alders qualified an impressive third after a late call-up from BlackArts Racing, while fellow 2018 Asian Formula Renault champion Zhou Cao qualified fourth (Absolute Racing) with his team-mate and FIA Formula 3 driver Devlin DeFrancesco behind him in fifth.

FIA Formula 2 driver Nikita Mazepin (Hitech Grand Prix) qualified in sixth place on his Formula 3 return, with 2019 Asian F3 runner up Jack Doohan (Pinnacle Motorsport) starting behind in seventh. Haas F1 reserve driver Pietro Fittipaldi (Pinnacle Motorsport) will start eighth on his return to single-seater competition.

2019 W-Series champion Jamie Chadwick (Absolute Racing) will start tenth, with fellow female driver and FIA Formula 2 racer Tatiana Calderon (Seven GP) behind in twelveth.

Italian FIA Formula 3 driver Alessio Deledda (Hitech Grand Prix) and gentleman driver Thomas Luedi (BlackArts Racing) fill the bottom end of the timesheets in fourteenth and fifteenth.

Formula 3 stalwart Jake Hughes (Hitech Grand Prix) will start sixteenth and last as he did not set a time in qualifying.

25 posts

About author
I am Nicholas Short, a 19 year old motorsport writer/karting driver from Northern California. I love all forms of motorsport and hope I can share my passion for the sport with its millions of fans worldwide through the tremendous platform that "The Checkered Flag" has given me!
Related posts
ADAC Formula 4F3 Asian ChampionshipFormula Renault EurocupSuper Formula

Junior Single Seater Race Weekend Round-up – 27-29 September 2019

12 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the race weekends of Super Formula, Formula Renault Eurocup, F3 Asian Championship and ADAC Formula 4.
EuroFormula OpenF3 Asian ChampionshipFormula Renault Eurocup

Junior Single Seater Race Weekend Round-up – 6-8 September 2019

9 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Eurocup Formula Renault weekend at the Hungaroring, EuroFormula Open weekend at Silverstone, and F3 Asian Championship at Shanghai.
F3 Asian ChampionshipSuper Formula

Junior Single Seater Race Weekend Round-Up – 21-23 June 2019

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Super Formula round at Sugo and the race weekend at Suzuka for the Asian Formula 3 drivers.