2020 Red Bull FIM Rookies Cup calendar announced

by Robert Jones

The official calendar for the 2020 Red Bull FIM Rookies Cup has been announced with 13 races spanning over seven different circuits. 

The season will start on the 2-3 of May with the Circuito de Jerez-Angel Nieto kicking proceedings off. 

Riders and teams then head to Le Mans and Mugello for rounds two and three with Sachsenring hosting round four in late June. 

KymiRing will host the fifth race weekend of the season at the newly build circuit based in Litti Kymenlaasko, Finland

To close out the year, we then head to the Red Bull Ring, Austria before finishing the year with the second Spanish round at MotorLand Aragon. 

Champion in 2019 Carlos Tatay moves up to the Moto3 class for 2020, meaning Pedro Acosta who finished runner up to his fellow Spaniard enters the season favorite for the title.

Acosta is joined by three fellow Spaniards as Alex Escrig, David Salvador and Marcos Uriarte are all in the confirmed rider lineup.

Eight more riders make up the current 2020 field with Indonesian Mario Aji, Matteo Bertelle of Italy, Australia’s Billy Van Eerde, Zonta Van Den Goorbergh of the Netherlands, Swiss rider Noah Dettwiler, Artem Maraev of Russia, Gabin Planques of France and finally Germany’s Philip Tonn

2020 will mark the 13th season of the Red Bull Rookies Cup, with current MotoGP Ducati Avintia rider Johann Zarco becoming the first champion in 2007.

The championship in recent years has been won in commanding fashion with only Kazuki Masaki in 2017 winning the championship by a race win or less. 

The margin that year was 11 points and this year has the potential to be another highly fought close battle. 

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More