eSportsNASCAR Cup SeriesSim Racing

Fox to broadcast eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series, entries grow

1 Mins read
Credit: NASCAR

Sunday will see the stars of the NASCAR Cup Series take to the track at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Well, kind of.

With the NASCAR season on hiatus, the sanctioning body and longtime sim racing partner joined forces on Tuesday to form the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series. On Thursday, Fox Sports announced it will air Sunday’s “season opener” at Homestead on its FS1 network, complete with broadcast from the real-life commentary team of Mike Joy, Jeff Gordon, and Larry McReynolds. Rather than the Dixie Vodka 400 in real life, the estimated 90-minute race will be known as the Dixie Vodka 150.

“This is a unique opportunity to offer competitive and entertaining racing to our viewers as we all work through these challenging times together,” Fox Executive Producer and Executive Vice President/Head of Production and Operations Brad Zager stated. “We are following CDC guidelines to maintain a safe work environment, as the well-being of all those involved is paramount. We value our relationships across the NASCAR community and appreciate all of the effort that it took in bringing this project to life.”

Credit: NASCAR

A full field will consist of thirty-five drivers, and many have already confirmed their entries for the race. Shortly after Tuesday’s announcement, Christopher BellClint BowyerKyle BuschDale Earnhardt Jr.Denny Hamlin, and Kyle Larson all revealed their intention to race. Two days later, Cup champion Joey Logano, 2012 champ Brad Keselowski, and Cup Series Most Popular Driver Chase Elliott also joined the field. Bowyer, who also dabbles as an analyst for the network, will serve as Fox’s in-car analyst as he drives in an iRacing simulator at Fox’s studio in Charlotte.

Other Cup drivers participating include Chris Buescher, William Byron, Matt DiBenedetto, Austin and Ty Dillon, Timmy Hill, Erik Jones, Michael McDowell, John Hunter Nemechek, Ryan Preece, Garrett Smithley, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and Bubba Wallace. From the Xfinity and Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series levels, Landon Cassill and Parker Kligerman have also entered.

Bobby Labonte, who most recently raced in the Whelen Euro Series and was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame‘s Class of 2020, will also race.

Avatar photo
3702 posts

About author
Justin is not an off-road racer, but he writes about it for The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
IndyCarNASCAR Cup SeriesOff Road

Parnelli Jones, 1933–2024

2 Mins read
Parnelli Jones, one of the most versatile racers of all time with victories at the Indianapolis 500, Baja 1000, NASCAR Cup Series, among others, died Tuesday after a battle with Parkinson’s.
NASCAR Cup Series

Former NASCAR team owner J.T. Lundy dies at 82

2 Mins read
John Thomas Lundy, who ran the Ranier-Lundy NASCAR Cup Series team alongside a controversial stint as a horse racing owner at Calumet Farm in the 1980s, died Wednesday at the age of 82.
NASCAR Cup Series

Cale Yarborough, 1939–2023

2 Mins read
Cale Yarborough, one of the greatest drivers in NASCAR history with 3 Cup Series titles and experience at both Le Mans and the Indy 500, passed away Sunday at the age of 84.