British Rallycross

Excitement builds for the BMW Mini Rallycross Season

1 Mins read
Credit: British Rallycross

The BMW Mini competition is finally due to get underway at Lydden Hill over the August Bank Holiday weekend (30/31 August) as part of the Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship 5 Nations Trophy presented by Cooper Tyres.

Amongst the already confirmed 17 entrants will be BMWMINIRX defending champion Drew Bellerby who will be fighting off competition from the likes of 2017’s champion Martin Hawkes and 2018’s champion David Bell. Both of whom are looking to claw back the title from the 21-year-old Yorkshire lass.

Other entrants include Darren Bleasdale who competed in a Winterseries event in January and has now committed to the entire championship. Wesley Wickens is also new to the sport and looks to be quite promising if his performance in the TCF Off-Road RX Cup virtual competition is anything to go by. Dave Ellis and Tomasz Chojnacki are new to the minis plus moving up from the junior classes are Ben Sayer and Archie Thomas who is the son of Supercar driver Roger Thomas.

Credit: British Rallycross

The August Bank Holiday weekend signals the start of the 2020 season after it was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic which curtailed all British motorsport since March. With the announcement from the UK Government and Motorsport UK that racing is to be allowed from August, promoter Lydden Hill Race Circuit announced a shorter than usual,  four-round championship starting at the ‘Home of Rallycross’.

Although this opening weekend will have just one round, the following three meetings at Knockhill (26/27 September), Pembury (17/18 October) and at Mondello Park (14/15 November) will all be double-header rounds.

Lydden Hill will also host the opening rounds of Supercars, Super 1600, Supernational, Suzuki Swifts, Juniors, RX150s, Retro Rallycross as well as the new GpB/4WD class during the August Bank Holiday weekend.

TCF Off Road - Follow @tcfoffroad on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Follow @tcfoffroad on: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Avatar photo
78 posts

About author
Motorsport Journalist. Natural born Petrolhead and Radio Broadcaster.
Related posts
British Rallycross

SEASON PREVIEW: 2024 British Rallycross Championship

8 Mins read
Preview the 2024 British Rallycross season with discussion on all Supercar drivers set to compete across the season.
British Rallycross

Patrick O'Donovan challenges the French to close in on Thorne's championship lead

2 Mins read
In an electrifying Rallycross France finale, Patrick O’Donovan claimed the top British spot, while Jack Thorne held strong in second. O’Donovan’s fourth-place overall sets the stage for a thrilling British Rallycross Championship showdown at Lydden Hill.
British Rallycross

Patrick O'Donovan wins Round 5 after schedule changed overnight

2 Mins read
Patrick O’Donovan was confirmed as the winner of Round 5 of the 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship after the schedule was amended…