British Rallycross

Ian Flitney and Andy Grant move to new Retro Rallycross class for 2020

2 Mins read
Andy Grant's Ford Focus
Credit: Motorsport UK

With the creation of the new Retro Rallycross 4WD/GpB class of the 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship, both former Swift driver Ian Flitney and Supercar driver Andy Grant have confirmed their move into it.

Flitney stated “Competing in rallycross was a dream come true; to move into Retro Rallycross even more so. I come from a motorsport-enthusiastic family and my first real taste of rallying was watching the 1972 RAC Rally and rallycross when VW Beetles and Hillman Imps were racing! It was amazing and I’ve been an avid rallycross fan ever since, particularly 4WD when the GpB machines moved into rallycross.

Flitney came into rallycross in 2018 and contested the full Swift Sport Rallycross Championship last year but jumped at the chance to drive a Subaru Impreza this season.

Co-ordinator Shirley Gibson has very generously offered a £1000 cash prize to the overall winner of the class this season. Also confirmed to join the class this year is Supercar driver Andy Grant, who is determined to put his vast experience to good use to claim the prize.

Grant finished fourth in BRX Supercars last year and his Ford Focus was very often seen at the front of the pack. The changes to the regulations for the 4WD class however does mean that he will be a tough man to beat as he switches over to the new retro class. Don’t be surprised is he makes an appearance in the Super Nationals though.

I’ve been in rallycross a long time now, and have successfully competed in BRX Supercars,” said Andy. “However, my car is now eligible for the new 4WD/GpB category and I’m confident I should be able to shine this year. Maybe I’ll do both classes! I also have a 2WD Corsa which is suitable for Super National too – it could end up being a busy weekend at Lydden Hill!

Ian Flitney's Subaru Impreza
Ian Flitney’s Subaru Impreza. Credit: Motorsport UK

The 4WD/GpBs will run across three rounds; one at the Lydden Hill August Bank Holiday weekend (30/31 August), with a double-header round at Pembrey’s 17/18 October event, a fitting event at a circuit which celebrates its 30th anniversary in 2020.

In addition to the £1000 prize fund, the winner also receives the prestigious Kenneth Hansen Trophy, named after and endorsed by the 14-time European Champion, arguably the most successful rallycross driver of all time.

Follow @tcfoffroad on: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

56 posts

About author
Motorsport Journalist. Natural born petrolhead and radio broadcaster.
Related posts
British Rallycross

Superb Racing in Rounds 3 and 4 of the BRX at Pembury

4 Mins read
Adrenaline fuelled racing across all classes made for an exciting bank holiday weekend of racing at Pembury in the 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship.
British Rallycross

Dramatic Racing in Round Two of The 2021 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship

7 Mins read
Heaps of sunshine, loads of spectators and plenty of drama all led to a great round two of the British Rallycross Championship at Lydden Hill on Bank Holiday Monday.
British Rallycross

5 Nations BRX Roars Into Action for 2021

7 Mins read
The 2021 season of the 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship kicks off in big style at a very sunny Lydden Hill in Kent.