Daly and Carlin score first Indycar pole, Newgarden pole for Saturday

2 Mins read
Credit: NTT Indycar Series

In a new qualifying format for the NTT Indycar Series, Conor Daly took his first ever pole in the series having not qualified in the top ten on an oval prior to this weekend.

He set a lap speed of 175.188mph which was enough to beat Team Penske duo Josef Newgarden and Will Power to the top spot.

It is also Carlin’s first pole position since they entered the series in 2018 and is proof of the team’s fantastic upward trajectory and a fitting reward for their hard work.

Daly’s second lap wasn’t as fast as his first so both Newgarden and Power will start ahead of him for Saturday’s second race but that won’t dampen Daly’s spirits ahead of tonight’s first race.

It could have been all three Penske cars at the front if Simon Pagenaud had shown his teammate’s pace but he failed to get on track as low fuel pressure stopped the car from starting and he was forced to wheel the car back to the garage and miss qualifying. He starts both races from the very back.

Championship leader Scott Dixon had a poor qualifying himself, not getting the purchase he wanted in his Chip Ganassi car. He qualified seventeenth and eighteenth for the two races with lots of work to do.

Zach Veach had troubles on his lap and was slowest of all on both laps but his Andretti Autosport teammates fared a little better. Ryan Hunter-Reay and Colton Herta start fourth and fifth for race two and Alexander Rossi also had a good first lap to put him fifth for race one. His second lap however could only beat Veach.

Pos.NameTeamLap Speed
1Conor DalyCarlin175.188
2Josef NewgardenTeam Penske175.107
3Will PowerTeam Penske174.807
4Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner174.799
5Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport172.263
6Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan172.130
7Felix RosenqvistChip Ganassi172.063
8Pato O’WardArrow McLaren SP171.617
9Jack HarveyMeyer Shank Racing171.611
10Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi171.496
11Santino FerrucciDale Coyne171.340
12Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport171.278
13Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing171.005
14Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SP170.879
15Charlie KimballAJ Foyt Racing170.817
16Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing170.661
17Scott DixonChip Ganassi170.619
18Alex PalouDale Coyne170.465
19Tony KanaanAJ Foyt Racing170.482
20Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport169.433
21Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan168.407
22Zach VeachAndretti Autosport165.453
23Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeNO TIME
Pos.NameTeamLap Speed
1Josef NewgardenTeam Penske175.333
2Will PowerTeam Penske175.024
3Conor DalyCarlin174.960
4Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport174.245
5Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner173.432
6Jack HarveyMeyer Shank Racing172.523
7Alex PalouDale Coyne172.382
8Tony KanaanAJ Foyt Racing171.834
9Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi171.653
10Felix RosenqvistChip Ganassi171.336
11Charlie KimballAJ Foyt Racing171.294
12Pato O’WardArrow McLaren SP171.099
13Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SP170.970
14Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing170.797
15Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing170.574
16Santino FerrucciDale Coyne170.450
17Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport170.313
18Scott DixonChop Ganassi169.531
19Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan169.268
20Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan169.174
21Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport168.639
22Zach VeachAndretti Autosport161.334
23Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeNO TIME
Related posts

Palou Claims Maiden IndyCar Victory in Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

5 Mins read
Alex Palou claims his maiden IndyCar win at the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama in his first race with Chip Ganassi Racing

Pato on Pole! O'Ward Fastest in First Qualifying of the Season at Barber

2 Mins read
Patricio O’Ward takes his second career NTT IndyCar Series pole position for the season-opening Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Rossi Fastest in Chaotic Practice 2 at Barber

3 Mins read
After three red flags in the session, Alexander Rossi set the fastest lap in Practice 2 for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Leave a Reply