Herta leads the way in Iowa practice

1 Mins read
Credit: NTT Indycar Series

As the NTT Indycar Series prepares for it’s first back-to-back double header at Iowa Speedway, it was Colton Herta who ended Friday’s sole practice session fastest ahead of dual qualifying this evening.

Herta put in a lap speed of 171.990mph late in the session to end quickest as qualifying looms with both laps meaning a lot in terms of grid position.

The drivers’ first lap of their single-car, two-lap qualifying will determine their grid position for race one tonight while their second lap will be where they start for Saturday’s second race.

Carlin are the only single-car team in the field this weekend but that didn’t stop Conor Daly from achieving the second fastest speed around the 0.894 mile Iowa Speedway as he and the British team impressed.

Team Penske showed they had good pace in all of their cars with Will Power third, Josef Newgarden fifth and Simon Pagenaud sixth. Right in the mix with the Captain’s trio was Santino Ferrucci who was one of the biggest movers and shakers at this track in 2019.

Series leader Scott Dixon was quiet but still clocked over 170mph in seventh ahead of rookie Rinus VeeKay who will be hoping for better things after his last oval appearance at Texas saw him crash twice in one day.

Marcus Ericsson was ninth and the returning veteran Tony Kanaan was tenth for AJ Foyt Racing in an encouraging hours worth of track time.

There were a number of big names languishing down the times with the focus perhaps more on the race. Alexander Rossi, Graham Rahal, Felix Rosenqvist among some of the names not as high in the board as you might expect.

Pos.NameTeamLap Speed (MPH)
1Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner171.990
2Conor DalyCarlin171.488
3Will PowerTeam Penske171.092
4Santino FerrucciDale Coyne171.080
5Josef NewgardenTeam Penske171.077
6Simon PagenaudTeam Penske170.733
7Scott DixonChip Ganassi170.111
8Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing169.353
9Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi169.071
10Tony KanaanAJ Foyt Racing169.066
11Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan168.884
12Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SP168.401
13Zach VeachAndretti Autosport168.216
14Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport168.186
15Pato O’WardArrow McLaren SP168.004
16Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport167.950
17Alex PalouDale Coyne167.672
18Charlie KimballAJ Foyt Racing167.210
19Felix RosenqvistChip Ganassi166.631
20Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport166.592
21Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing166.534
22Jack HarveyMeyer Shank Racing166.296
23Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan164.384
Related posts

Pato on Pole! O'Ward Fastest in First Qualifying of the Season at Barber

2 Mins read
Patricio O’Ward takes his second career NTT IndyCar Series pole position for the season-opening Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Rossi Fastest in Chaotic Practice 2 at Barber

3 Mins read
After three red flags in the session, Alexander Rossi set the fastest lap in Practice 2 for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Palou Tops Lightning Quick Honda Indy Grand Prix Practice 1

2 Mins read
Alex Palou made a great first impression with Chip Ganassi Racing, topping the charts in Practice 1.

Leave a Reply