Josef Newgarden takes First Road America Pole Ahead of Jack Harvey

1 Mins read
Credit: Chris Owens / IndyCar

Reigning NTT Indycar Series Champion Josef Newgarden claimed pole position for the REV Group Grand Prix at Road America after topping a very strong qualifying group.

In a change to the usual Qualifying set-up for road circuits, the field was split into two groups to determine which row each driver would start on, with group two seeing a lot of the big hitters out together. Usually, Indycar would have a three-part Qualifying session, with the top six in each group moving into the Fast Twelve session, before the top six set the top six places on the grid.

Newgarden’s time of 1:45.5191 was quicker than Jack Harvey’s group one pace of 1:45.7290, meaning the group two drivers will start on the inside of each respective row. Both will receive one point towards the championship for their efforts, but Newgarden will start on the pole position for race one of the first double-header weekend of 2020.

Harvey backed up his pace in practice to edge a tight group one with Rahal Letterman Lanigan’s Graham Rahal, Dale Coyne with Vasser-Sullivan‘s Santino Ferruci and Chip Ganassi Racing‘s Felix Rosenqvist all close behind. Marco Andretti was fifth fastest so will start the race inside the top ten.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was second quickest in the ultra-competitive group two ahead of practice pace-setter Will Power and Colton Herta, with Dixon only fifth quickest and he’ll start ninth as he tries to take a third consecutive victory in 2020.

The really strong field in group two meant that the likes of Dixon, Alexander Rossi (eleventh) and Simon Pagenaud (seventeenth) start lower than they’d have expected which is the recipe for a great race to come.

PosNameTeamLap Time
1Jack HarveyMeyer Shank Racing1:45:7290
2Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan1:45:7593
3Santino Ferrucci Dale Coyne with Vasser-Sullivan1:45:7696
4Felix RosenqvistChip Ganassi Racing1:45:8469
5Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport1:45:9888
6Patricio O’WardArrow McLaren SP1:46:0356
7Alex Palou Dale Coyne with Team Goh1:46:1260
8Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing1:46:1301
9Max ChiltonCarlin1:46:3878
10Zach VeachAndretti Autosport1:46:4707
11Charlie KimballAJ Foyt Racing1:47:6862
PosNameTeamLap Time
1Josef NewgardenTeam Penske1:45:5191
2Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport1:45:6563
3Will PowerTeam Penske1:45:8244
4Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport1:45:8609
5Scott DixonChip Ganassi Racing1:45:9324
6Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport1:46:1365
7Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi Racing1:46:2980
8Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan1:46:5368
9Simon PagenaudTeam Penske1:46:7090
10Conor DalyEd Carpenter Racing1:46:8114
11Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SP1:47:1133
12Dalton KellettAJ Foyt Racing1:47:5761

Related posts

Palou Claims Maiden IndyCar Victory in Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

5 Mins read
Alex Palou claims his maiden IndyCar win at the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama in his first race with Chip Ganassi Racing

Pato on Pole! O'Ward Fastest in First Qualifying of the Season at Barber

2 Mins read
Patricio O’Ward takes his second career NTT IndyCar Series pole position for the season-opening Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Rossi Fastest in Chaotic Practice 2 at Barber

3 Mins read
After three red flags in the session, Alexander Rossi set the fastest lap in Practice 2 for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Leave a Reply