O’Ward takes first Indycar pole as the young guns shine

1 Mins read
Credit: NTT Indycar Series

The front row of the second Road America race of the weekend will look very familiar to Indy Lights fans of 2018 as Pato O’Ward clinched his and Arrow McLaren SP‘s first NTT Indycar Series pole.

He topped group two of qualifying and his 1:44:8971 was fractionally quicker than Colton Herta’s group one fastest lap meaning the Mexican will lead the field to green.

The groups will split the same as they were yesterday so many of the big hitters were out together in group one and again it was Ryan Hunter-Reay the bridesmaid behind Herta. He’ll start fourth alongside Alex Palou who impressed again.

Graham Rahal was robbed of a potential podium or even win in the first race with a fuelling issue but he’s in a good position for redemption starting fifth ahead of Saturday’s winner Scott Dixon.

Dixon’s teammate Felix Rosenqvist starts seventh ahead of Will Power with Jack Harvey and Alexander Rossi on row five.

Simon Pagenaud was again far down, he could only manage eleventh out of the twelve drivers in group one and will start twenty-second as a result.

His Penske teammate and yesterday’s pole-sitter Josef Newgarden will start fourteenth.

Pos.NameTeamLap Time
1Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner1:44:9250
2Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport1:45:1534
3Scott DixonChip Ganassi1:45:2674
4Will PowerTeam Penske1:45:2995
5Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport1:45:3722
6Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan1:45:4320
7Josef NewgardenTeam Penske1:45:4605
8Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi1:45:7852
9Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SP1:46:0735
10Conor DalyEd Carpenter Racing1:46:4850
11Simon PagenaudTeam Penske1:46:5734
12Dalton KellettAJ Foyt Raacing1:47:3130
Pos.NameTeamLap Time
1Patricio O’WardArrow McLaren SP1:44:8971
2Alex PalouDale Coyne Racing1:44:9192
3Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan1:45:0324
4Felix RosenqvistChip Ganassi1:45:1487
5Jack HarveyMeyer Shank Racing1:45:5094
6Santino FerrucciDale Coyne Racing1:45:5676
7Charlie KimballAJ Foyt Racing1:45:8344
8Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing1:46:0330
9Zach VeachAndretti Autosport1:46:1816
10Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport1:46:2213
11Max ChiltonCarlin1:46:6091
Related posts

Fittipaldi Reunites with Haas Teammate Grosjean at Dale Coyne Racing with RWR

2 Mins read
Pietro Fittipaldi makes his return to IndyCar with Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing, racing on the ovals for the No. 51 team along with former Haas teammate Romain Grosjean.
24 Hours of Le MansFormula 1IndyCar

Daniel Ricciardo isn't ruling out an attempt at Le Mans or the Indy 500

2 Mins read
As a previous winner of the Monaco Grand Prix, Ricciardo would be in with a shot at getting the coveted Triple Crown of motorsport.
Formula 1IndyCar

Grosjean Remembers ‘Everything’ from Bahrain Crash: “I don't feel like a superhero”

2 Mins read
Romain Grosjean has spoken candidly about what helped him escape his burning car during the opening lap of the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Leave a Reply