Pole-sitter Newgarden tops Indycar practice

1 Mins read
Credit: NTT Indycar Series

Having already secured pole position for Saturday’s nights second NTT Indycar Series Iowa 250, Josef Newgarden had the perfect preparation for the race by setting the fastest lap speed in the only practice session before the green flag drops.

The Team Penske driver qualified second and finished fifth in Friday’s first running of the race and will be hoping to take the chequered flag first tonight to re-ignite his championship challenge.

Friday’s race was won by his teammate Simon Pagenaud who came from last to victory lane and he’ll have to do it all again tonight. He was second fastest, just ahead of Scott Dixon, as he was in the previous race.

Veteran Tony Kanaan on his part-time goodbye tour of Indycar was fourth quickest and will start eighth on a track he goes well on whatever the circumstances.

Takuma Sato was fifth ahead of Alexander Rossi who both start towards the rear after disappointing second laps in qualifying. Felix Rosenqvist was seventh quicker as the race winner a week ago at Road America.

Graham Rahal was much more competitive in eighth ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay and the star of qualifying Conor Daly who starts third after getting his first pole for yesterday’s race.

The third Penske car of Will Power didn’t get a good run in and he was only twentieth as he starts on the front row tonight.

Pos.NameTeamSpeed (MPH)
1Josef NewgardenTeam Penske170.199
2Simon PagenaudTeam Penske168.515
3Scott DixonChip Ganassi168.156
4Tony KanaanAJ Foyt Racing167.337
5Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan166.869
6Alexander RossiAndretti Autosport165.741
7Felix RosenqvistChip Ganassi164.426
8Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan164.334
9Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport164.163
10Conor DalyCarlin164.116
11Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi163.663
12Alex PalouDale Coyne163.618
13Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner163.546
14Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter Racing162.925
15Pato O’WardArrow McLaren SP162.688
16Jack HarveyMeyer Shank Racing162.655
17Charlie KimballAJ Foyt Racing162.264
18Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport162.083
19Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter Racing162.015
20Will PowerTeam Penske161.394
21Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SP161.310
22Santino FerrucciDale Coyne160.975
23Zach VeachAndretti Autosport159.579
Related posts

Pato on Pole! O'Ward Fastest in First Qualifying of the Season at Barber

2 Mins read
Patricio O’Ward takes his second career NTT IndyCar Series pole position for the season-opening Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Rossi Fastest in Chaotic Practice 2 at Barber

3 Mins read
After three red flags in the session, Alexander Rossi set the fastest lap in Practice 2 for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Palou Tops Lightning Quick Honda Indy Grand Prix Practice 1

2 Mins read
Alex Palou made a great first impression with Chip Ganassi Racing, topping the charts in Practice 1.

Leave a Reply