Formula 3

Pourchaire handed victory as Lawson and Hughes collide

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 3

Théo Pourchaire took his first FIA Formula 3 victory as the leading pair of Liam Lawson and Jake Hughes collided while battling for the win late on.

With just four laps to go, Hughes had a run on Lawson and looked to have made the move stick around the outside of turn four but Lawson was late on the brakes. He over-steered on the kerb and slid into Hughes putting both cars out of the race with suspension damage.

16-year-old Pourchaire had held onto third all race with Logan Sargeant unable to find a way through and as a result, Pourchaire just had to not break down as the race finished under the safety car.

David Beckmann came home third having put on some good moves on his drive through the field as he beat Richard Verschoor and Oscar Piastri to the final podium place.

Piastri also had the fastest lap and so gains two extra points as he finished ahead of British duo Olli Caldwell and Max Fewtrell who both will be happy with their results.

Race one winner Frederik Vesti couldn’t make as much progress as he finished eighth ahead of Sebastián Fernández and Lirim Zendeli who both had excursions in the gravel at the exit of turn four during the race.

1Théo PourchaireART24 Laps
2Logan SargeantPREMA+0.4
3David BeckmannTrident+0.6
4Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport+1.1
5Oscar PiastriPREMA+1.8
6Olli CaldwellTrident+1.8
7Max FewtrellHitech GP+2.1
8Frederik VestiPREMA+2.5
9Sebastián FernándezART+3.0
10Lirim ZendeliTrident+3.3
11Alex PeroniCampos+3.6
12Dennis HaugerHitech GP+3.9
13Enzo FittipaldiHWA Racelab+4.2
14Igor FragaCharouz+4.5
15Enaam AhmedCarlin Buzz Racing+5.3
16Bent ViscaalMP Motorsport+5.7
17David SchumacherCharouz+6.4
18Roman StanekCharouz+6.5
19Lukas DunnerMP Motorsport+8.3
20Jack DoohanHWA Racelab+8.5
21Aleksandr SmolyarART+8.9
22Alessio DeleddaCampos+9.7
23Federico MalvesitiJenzer+10.0
24Calan WilliamsJenzer+11.3
25Clément NovalakCarlin Buzz Racing+1 Lap
26Liam LawsonHitech GPDNF (Contact)
27Jake HughesHWA RacelabDNF (Contact)
28Cameron DasCarlin Buzz RacingDNF (Mechanical)
29Sophia FloerschCamposDNF (Contact)
30Matteo NanniniJenzer+17 Laps
Related posts
Formula 3

Collet leaves Austria as man to beat in F3

2 Mins read
Lap Records being broken and rookies shining in Austria as Caio Collet ends the first F3 pre-season test fastest for MP Motorsport.
Formula 3

Smolyar kicks off F3 testing on top

2 Mins read
A first taster for what is to come as FIA Formula 3 returned to the track. Aleksandr Smolyar was quickest but Jonny Edgar and Jak Crawford have made strong starts to their rookie campiagn.
Formula 3

British champion Frederick remains with Carlin to complete F3 team

1 Mins read
Kaylen Frederick makes the step up to Formula 3, leaving just three seats open ahead of the 2021 season, all at Charouz.

Leave a Reply