Formula 3

Pourchaire wins two-part Hungary spectacular

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 3

As chaos rained around him, Théo Pourchaire showed maturity beyond his sixteen years to take his second FIA Formula 3 win in as many races.

The Frenchman was able to get a good gap at every safety car restart over Oscar Piastri and pulled well clear to score a crushing victory.

Bernd Maylander in his safety car was out on lap one as a slippery surface caused Logan Sargeant to slide under braking and clatter into pole-sitter Aleksandr Smolyar. Sargeant got away from the incident third but Smolyar, Frederik Vesti and Calan Williams all retired as a result.

Liam Lawson looked everywhere for a way past the American after the restart but his race was ended as his car caught fire out of turn one. The blowout dropped oil across turns one and two which saw the FIA red flag the session to clear the track.

Piastri held on to second despite some light damage from the turn one melee ahead of Sargeant and MP Motorsport pair Bent Viscaal and Richard Verschoor with the former pulling off a stunning outside pass at turn four on the final lap to get the position.

Sebastián Fernández’s race was almost ended as he was directly behind Lawson’s expiring Hitech GP car but he recovered to finish sixth from, Alex Peroni and Dennis Hauger.

Other than Pourchaire, Clément Novalak was perhaps the star of the race, climbing seventeen places to ninth for Carlin and he’ll start on the front row for race two with tenth-placed David Beckmann on pole.

1Théo PourchaireART22 Laps
2Oscar PiastriPREMA+11.920
3Logan SargeantPREMA+14.739
4Bent ViscaalMP Motorsport+17.360
5Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport+18.063
6Sebastián FernándezART+19.6636
7Alex PeroniCampos+21.431
8Dennis HaugerHitech GP+21.656
9Clément NovalakCarlin Buzz Racing+22.208
10David BeckmannTrident+22.951
11Max FewtrellHitech GP+23.428
12Lukas DunnerMP Motorsport+27.298
13Federico MalvestitiJenzer+27.972
14Enaam AhmedCarlin Buzz Racing+28.597
15Igor FragaCharouz+30.883
16David SchumacherCharouz+31.265
17Cameron DasCarlin Buzz Racing+34.777
18Sophia FloerschCampos+36.352
19Enzo FittipaldiHWA Racelab+36.629
20Alessio DeleddaCampos+38.432
21Olli CaldwellTrident+44.026
22Matteo NanniniJenzer+47.482
23Roman StanekCharouz+49.705
24Jake HughesHWA Racelab+62.217
25Lirim ZendeliTridentDNF (Contact)
26Liam LawsonHitech GPDNF (Mechanical)
27Jack DoohanHWA RacelabDNF (Contact)
28Aleksandr SmolyarARTDNF (Contact)
29Frederik VestiPREMADNF (Contact)
30Calan WilliamsJenzerDNF (Contact)
Related posts
Formula 3

Collet leaves Austria as man to beat in F3

2 Mins read
Lap Records being broken and rookies shining in Austria as Caio Collet ends the first F3 pre-season test fastest for MP Motorsport.
Formula 3

Smolyar kicks off F3 testing on top

2 Mins read
A first taster for what is to come as FIA Formula 3 returned to the track. Aleksandr Smolyar was quickest but Jonny Edgar and Jak Crawford have made strong starts to their rookie campiagn.
Formula 3

British champion Frederick remains with Carlin to complete F3 team

1 Mins read
Kaylen Frederick makes the step up to Formula 3, leaving just three seats open ahead of the 2021 season, all at Charouz.

Leave a Reply