Formula 2

Tsunoda takes first F2 pole in tight qualifying

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 2

Having been fastest in the morning’s practice session, Yuki Tsunoda sweeped Friday to take pole position for the first time in his FIA Formula 2 career.

He got the job done during the first flying laps as no one could improve significantly at the end of the session meaning the Carlin driver’s time of 1:14:803 wasn’t beaten.

He will have the UNI-Virtuosi duo of Guanyu Zhou and Callum Ilott breathing down his neck in second and third on the grid but it could’ve been even better for the Chinese racer had Mick Schumacher not got in the way on his initial final flying lap. Zhou had set a purple first sector before taking evasive action from the slow PREMA.

Luca Ghiotto brought some much needed joy to Hitech GP in qualifying fourth ahead of Jack Aitken who’s improvement was also very handy.

Behind those two experienced F2 drivers came a trio of rookies who all impressed during round one, Robert Shwartzman qualified sixth from Jehan Daruvala and Christian Lundgaard and even more impressively, beating his PREMA teammate Schumacher who was ninth.

Felipe Drugovich was much better than his practice paced suggested as he ended the session tenth ahead of Marino Sato who had his best qualifying for a long time.

The Charouz cars of Pedro Piquet and Louis Delétraz qualified seventeenth and eighteenth respectively but will both serve a one-place grid penalty for driving from the F2 paddock to the F1 pit lane on wet tyres at the start of practice.

Pos.NameTeamLap Time
1Yuki TsunodaCarlin1:14:803
2Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:14:841
3Callum IlottUNI-Virtuosi1:14:888
4Luca GhiottoHitech GP1:14:974
5Jack AitkenCampos1:14:976
6Robert ShwatzmanPREMA1:14:978
7Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:15:063
8Christian LundgaardART1:15:099
9Mick SchumacherPREMA1:15:141
10Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport1:15:189
11Marino SatoTrident1:15:230
12Marcus ArmstrongART1:15:265
13Roy NissanyTrident1:15:274
14Nobuharu MatsushitaMP Motorsport1:15:304
15Dan TicktumDAMS1:15:305
16Sean GelaelDAMS1:15:332
17Pedro Piquet*Charouz1:15:399
18Louis Delétraz*Charouz1:15:490
19Nikita MazepinHitech GP1:15:528
20Artem MarkelovHWA Racelab1:15:681
21Guiliano AlesiHWA Racelab1:15:721
22Guilherme SamaiaCampos1:16:287
* = One place grid penalty
Related posts
Formula 2

Samaia and Beckmann make up Charouz F2 team

2 Mins read
Beckmann makes his debut in Formula 2 while Samaia prepares for his second year in the series.
Formula 2Formula 3

Alpine announce academy drivers; Zhou, Lundgaard stay put, Martins & Collet in F3 with MP

2 Mins read
A big chunk of the Formula 2 and 3 grids have been unveiled as Alpine announce their driver academy for 2021.
Formula 2

Formula Regional Champion Petecof joins Formula 2 with Campos

2 Mins read
One of Adrián Campos’ final wishes has been granted. Gianluca Petecof will race for Campos in Formula 2 in 2021.

Leave a Reply