Formula 2

Ilott takes championship lead after perfect feature race victory

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 2

Callum Ilott converted pole position into race victory as he took over the FIA Formula 2 championship lead after a truly dominant display of driving.

He was able to break the DRS early on and he never looked back, eventually taking victory by a colossal eight and a half seconds over Christian Lundgaard.

The UNI-Virtuosi driver was simply in a different league to the rest who suffered more from tyre wear than the race winner and engaged in great battles behind.

Lundgaard dropped to third at the start as Dan Ticktum got off to a brilliant start but the Brit dropped off significantly during both stints and only just held on to fifteenth. He was audibly furious on the radio as a promising result faded away rapidly.

Jack Aitken made it two British drivers on the Silverstone podium as he resisted mid-race pressure from Louis Delétraz to secure third place for his Campos team.

Delétraz ran fourth for most of the race but he was overtaken on the last lap by a charging Nikita Mazepin who made the alternative strategy work as he did a week ago when he won the feature race.

Yuki Tsunoda was slightly disappointed with qualifying but recovered really well to finish sixth ahead of the PREMA duo Mick Schumacher and Robert Shwartzman.

They will start alongside each other on the front row with Shwartzman looking to regain his championship lead from reverse grid pole position. It’s a race that PREMA should be looking for big points from the keep the rest of the field in check.

Following the Italian squad home was Ilott’s teammate Guanyu Zhou who seemed quicker than the two in front of him but he couldn’t find a way past. Felipe Drugovich secured the final point in tenth for MP Motorsport in a quiet race for the Dutch team.

1Callum IlottUNI-Virtuosi29 Laps
2Christian LundgaardART+8.574
3Jack AitkenCampos+12.303
4Nikita MazepinHitech GP+15.020
5Louis DelétrazCharouz+16.644
6Yuki TsunodaCarlin+17.010
7Mick SchumacherPREMA+19.232
8Robert ShwartzmanPREMA+20.033
9Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi+20.438
10Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport+24.127
11Nobuharu MatsushitaMP Motorsport+26.418
12Jehan DaruvalaCarlin+28.109
13Luca GhiottoHitech GP+36.114
14Marcus ArmstrongART+41.725
15Dan TicktumDAMS+43.109
16Guiliano AlesiHWA Racelab+32.252
17Marino SatoTrident+50.048
18Roy NissanyTrident+51.428
19Artem MarkelovHWA Racelab+74.193
20Guilherme SamaiaCampos+75.090
21Pedro PiquetCharouz+1 Lap
22Sean GelaelDAMS+8 Laps
Related posts
FeaturesFormula 1Formula 2Opinion

Son of an icon: Does Mick Schumacher deserve a seat in F1?

4 Mins read
The son of seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher, Mick Schumacher currently leads the FIA Formula 2 Championship, but does he really have what it takes to make it in Formula 1?
Formula 2

Lundgaard avenges feature race misfortune to dominate at Mugello

2 Mins read
In a word: Obliteration. Christian Lundgaard was in a class of his own as he cruised to his second Formula 2 win of 2020 to brings himself well and truly into the title fight.
Formula 2

Mazepin storms to victory as Schumacher takes championship lead

1 Mins read
A late safety car benefitted those on the alternate strategy including one Nikita Mazepin who took his second win of the year.

Leave a Reply