Formula 3

Sargeant claims third successive F3 pole in one-lap shootout

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 3

Logan Sargeant is becoming the qualifying king of FIA Formula 3 as he took a third consecutive pole position to claim a vital four points in his championship challenge,

The American took the lead in the standings at last weekend’s 70th Anniversary Grand Prix and now looks to pull away as he’ll start Saturday’s race from the very front.

He had a gap of 0.111s over Jake Hughes at the front which was a mammoth gap in a field where one second covered the top twenty-three cars.

Liam Lawson took third ahead of former championship leader Oscar Piastri who may be in the prime position for the start with a long run into turn one at the start.

With the Pirelli hard tyres only holding out for one lap at their best, it meant many drivers chose to run ‘in the gap’ to try and avoid traffic but those who did were bumped down by those who held out until the end of the session.

Alex Peroni had gone two tenths clear when he ran mid-way through the session but ended only ninth and four tenths off Sargeant’s time.

Sebastián Fernández has been somewhat underwhelming ever since he crashed at the first corner of the season but a fifth placed start is exactly what the Spaniard needed on home soil.

Carlin were much improved at Silverstone and showed so again with Clément Novalak qualifying sixth, ahead of race winners David Beckmann and Théo Pourchaire.

Lirim Zendeli completed the top ten but was still less than half a second off pole position.

Everyone had completed their laps when Alessio Deledda found the turn four tyre barrier for the second time in as many sessions as the Italian qualified last of the thirty-car grid.

Pos.NameTeamLap Time
1Logan SargeantPREMA1:32:974
2Jake HughesHWA Racelab1:33:085
3Liam LawsonHitech GP1:33:117
4Oscar PiastriPREMA1:33:171
5Sebastián FernándezART1:33:222
6Clément NovalakCarlin Buzz Racing1:33:239
7David BeckmannTrident1:33:319
8Théo PourchaireART1:33:386
9Alex PeroniCampos1:33:407
10Lirim ZendeliTrident1:33:412
11Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:33:531
12Leonardo PulciniCarlin Buzz Racing1:33:588
13Matteo NanniniJenzer1:33:602
14Aleksandr SmolyarART1:33:682
15Frederik VestiPREMA1:33:685
16Enzo FittipaldiHWA Racelab1:33:762
17Jack DoohanHWA Racelab1:33:782
18Cameron DasCarlin Buzz Racing1:33:826
19Roman StanekCharouz1:33:874
20Lukas DunnerMP Motorsport1:33:892
21Olli CaldwellTrident1:33:911
22Max FewtrellHitech GP1:33:934
23Bent ViscaalMP Motorsport1:33:937
24Dennis HaugerHitech GP1:33:976
25Calan WilliamsJenzer1:34:004
26David SchumacherCharouz1:34:025
27Federico MalvestitiJenzer1:34:188
28Igor FragaCharouz1:34:273
29Sophia FloerschCampos1:34:517
30Alessio DeleddaCampos1:35:181
Related posts
Formula 3

Collet leaves Austria as man to beat in F3

2 Mins read
Lap Records being broken and rookies shining in Austria as Caio Collet ends the first F3 pre-season test fastest for MP Motorsport.
Formula 3

Smolyar kicks off F3 testing on top

2 Mins read
A first taster for what is to come as FIA Formula 3 returned to the track. Aleksandr Smolyar was quickest but Jonny Edgar and Jak Crawford have made strong starts to their rookie campiagn.
Formula 3

British champion Frederick remains with Carlin to complete F3 team

1 Mins read
Kaylen Frederick makes the step up to Formula 3, leaving just three seats open ahead of the 2021 season, all at Charouz.

Leave a Reply