Formula 2

Tsunoda steals victory after PREMA’s collide for the lead

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 2

After having a potential win snatched away from him in Austria with radio problems, Yuki Tsunoda finally has his first FIA Formula 2 victory after the PREMA teammates came to blows as they battled for the lead.

Pole man Robert Shwartzman had led every lap but his tyres began to fade away and Mick Schumacher closed in. The German had the run going down the Wellington straight and got in front of Shwartzman but he cut across the front of the Russian in the braking zone meaning Shwartzman could do nothing to prevent nose to tail contact.

The stewards investigated the incident and declared it a racing incident but Schumacher was rather apologetic on the radio after the chequered flag fell.

But the incident meant that Tsunoda and Carlin, who had waited patiently all race in third, was the lucky beneficiary to go on and win for the first time in F2.

Schumacher held on to second but Shwartzman suffered front wing damage and dropped out of the points and as a result falls further behind in the championship challenge.

Jack Aitken was the driver who got promoted to the podium as Shwartzman dropped down to complete a double podium weekend which was much needed after an underwhelming start to the season.

He held off constant pressure from Louis Delétraz who had a much improved weekend finishing fourth ahead of Guanyu Zhou who also stayed on the tail of Aitken but wasn’t able to find a way through.

Zhou’s UNI-Virtuosi teammate Callum Ilott came home sixth but that wasn’t without contact himself as he slid into Nikita Mazepin at Brooklands. Ilott claiming the Russian moved in the braking zone which caused his car to lose downforce.

It’s another four points gained though for Ilott with Shwartzman and Christian Lundgaard – who suffered a left front puncture towards the latter stages – not scoring.

Dan Ticktum recovered form a disastrous feature race to finish seventh ahead of Mazepin who stabilised after the Ilott contact.

1Yuki TsunodaCarlin21 Laps
2Mick SchumacherPREMA+3.120
3Jack AitkenCampos+17.993
4Louis DelétrazCharouz+20.258
5Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi+21.059
6Callum IlottUNI-Virtuosi+22.154
7Dan TicktumDAMS+22.913
8Nikita MazepinHitech GP+25.201
9Jehan DaruvalaCarlin+28.672
10Luca GhiottoHitech GP+29.066
11Artem MarkelovHWA Racelab+33.686
12Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport+34.776
13Robert ShwartzmanPREMA+36.362
14Marcus ArmstrongART+37.995
15Roy NissanyTrident+40.151
16Pedro PiquetCharouz+43.748
17Marino SatoTrident+47.202
18Nobuharu MatsushitaMP Motorsport+60.275
19Guilherme SamaiaCampos+61.710
20Guiliano AlesiHWA Racelab+91.548
21Christian LundgaardART+1 Lap
22Sean GelaelDAMSDNS (Mechanical)
Related posts
Formula 2

DAMS open 2021 F2 account with feature race points

2 Mins read
Marcus Armstrong’s fifth in the feature race saved what could’ve been a pointless weekend for DAMS.
Formula 2

Zhou victorious in another thrilling Formula 2 spectacle

2 Mins read
Victory and the Championship lead for Guanyu Zhou in another exciting Formula 2 race in Bahrain. A nice teaser as to what is hopefully to come in Formula One later today.
Formula 2

Lundgaard reinstated onto F2 podium

1 Mins read
A late change to the podium for the second F2 sprint race as Christian Lundgaard gets his second place back upon FIA review.

Leave a Reply