Formula 3

Piastri takes title by two points after Pourchaire charge, Lawson wins race with Sargeant retiring

2 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 3 / PREMA Racing

As the curtain fell on FIA Formula 3’s epic 2020 season, Oscar Piastri did everything he needed to win the title by just two points from Théo Pourchaire who drove a fantastic race to third on the road but he couldn’t quite get the second place that would’ve secured him the title.

Piastri made a super start to get himself into seventh and ahead of Pourchaire but he lost places after the first lap safety car caused by the third contender Logan Sargeant as he was squeezed by Sebastián Fernández into turn two.

That took the American out of contention for the championship and left Pourchaire the only man who could stop Piastri, and boy did he try!

As he has done all season, Pourchaire executed some fine overtaking moves as he made his way to third but the nine point gap was too far for him to overcome as Piastri overtook Fernández on the line for seventh to ensure he would be champion.

Completely unnoticed out front though was pole-sitter Liam Lawson who made a great start and had the perfect safety car restart to drive off into the distance with David Beckmann nearly eight seconds behind in second.

Pourchaire completed the podium for his fourth in a row ahead of Enzo Fittipaldi who showed yet more promising race pace after a tricky start to the year. Richard Verschoor and Jake Hughes came next ahead of Piastri who won’t care one bit now he has confirmed his crown as 2020 F3 champion.

His PREMA teammate Frederik Vesti gave him a hard time throughout the race but the Dane could only manage ninth behind Fernández with Aleksandr Smolyar holding on to tenth after dropping back from what was second early on.

And all that brings FIA Formula 3 to an end for 2020 and it’s been one of the best F3 season’s ever and Oscar Piastri will be proud to call himself the champion.

1Liam LawsonHitech GP21 Laps
2David BeckmannTrident+7.806
3Théo PourchaireART+9.193
4Enzo FittipaldiHWA Racelab+10.399
5Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport+10.982
6Jake HughesHWA Racelab+12.436
7Oscar PiastriPREMA+13.521
8Sebastián FernándezART+13.564
9Frederik VestiPREMA+14.980
10Aleksandr SmolyarART+19.400
11Jack DoohanHWA Racelab+20.684
12Dennis HaugerHitech GP+21.712
13Alex PeroniCampos+22.235
14Clément NovalakCarlin+22.785
15Matteo NanniniJenzer+23.256
16Olli CaldwellTrident+23.443
17Lukas DunnerMP Motorsport+26.133
18Roman StanekCharouz+29.076
19David SchumacherCarlin+30.841
20Bent ViscaalMP Motorsport+30.930
21Calan WilliamsJenzer+32.210
22Federico MalvestitiJenzer+34.316
23Michael BelovCharouz+34.803
24Sophia FloerschCampos+35.284
25Cameron DasCarlin+37.734
26Alessio DeleddaCampos+55.484
27Logan SargeantPREMADNF (Crash)
28Lirim ZendeliTridentDNF (Crash)
Related posts
Formula 3

Collet leaves Austria as man to beat in F3

2 Mins read
Lap Records being broken and rookies shining in Austria as Caio Collet ends the first F3 pre-season test fastest for MP Motorsport.
Formula 3

Smolyar kicks off F3 testing on top

2 Mins read
A first taster for what is to come as FIA Formula 3 returned to the track. Aleksandr Smolyar was quickest but Jonny Edgar and Jak Crawford have made strong starts to their rookie campiagn.
Formula 3

British champion Frederick remains with Carlin to complete F3 team

1 Mins read
Kaylen Frederick makes the step up to Formula 3, leaving just three seats open ahead of the 2021 season, all at Charouz.

Leave a Reply