Formula 3

Doohan great – Jack ends F3 test fastest

2 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 3

Australian Jack Doohan ended the final post-season FIA Formula 3 test at the top of the timing screens to conclude a very positive time with the Trident team.

The seventeen-year-old was equally fast at the first post-season test in Barcelona and during the first day in Jerez as he looks to redeem himself after a disappointing 2020 season with HWA.

He has driven for Trident throughout both tests and has been a regular at the sharp end in every session, furthering his cause for a drive in 2021.

The best lap times of the day came in the morning where Doohan’s time was almost a second quicker than Roman Stanek’s pace from day one. A 1:29:041 from Doohan just good enough to beat Clément Novalak, who also piloted a Trident car for this test.

The two of them were substantially clear of the rest of the field, headed by Calan Williams in the Jenzer that he drove throughout the 2020 season. He edged out 15-year-old Jak Crawford.

The Texan has been mightily impressive in both tests as he aims to emulate fellow American Logan Sargeant in winning races in Formula 3. Another F3 race winner was in behind Crawford with David Beckmann leading the Charouz team for this test ahead of the lead PREMA of Dennis Hauger.

The afternoon session was over a second slower than the morning as Igor Fraga led the way for Hitech GP from Williams and Brazilian rookie Caio Collet, who achieved a pair of top ten finishes on day two.

The afternoon was largely dedicated to long run pace with Matteo Nannini completing fifty-nine laps in the three hour session in twelfth. Fraga, Enzo Fittipaldi and Pierre-Louis Chovet all completed fifty-five laps apiece.

Pos.NameTeamLap Time
1Jack DoohanTrident1:29:041
2Clément NovalakTrident1:29:060
3Calan WilliamsJenzer1:29:328
4Jak CrawfordHitech GP1:29:336
5David BeckmannCharouz1:29:350
6Dennis HaugerPREMA1:29:361
7Caio ColletART1:29:461
8Jonathan HoggardCampos1:29:514
9Arthur LeclercPREMA1:29:516
10Enzo FittipaldiHWA Racelab1:29:558
11Igor FragaHitech GP1:29:622
12Pierre-Louis ChovetHWA Racelab1:29:628
13David SchumacherTrident1:29:674
14Frederik VestiART1:29:698
15Olli CaldwellART1:29:705
16Matteo NanniniHitech GP1:29:718
17David VidalesCampos1:29:728
18Bent ViscaalMP Motorsport1:29:833
19Cameron DasCarlin1:29:917
20Jonny EdgarMP Motorsport1:30:099
21Oliver RasmussenPREMA1:30:135
22Reshad De GerusCharouz1:30:285
23Nazim AzmanCarlin1:30:310
24Ido CohenCarlin1:30:410
25Sophia FloerschHWA Racelab1:30:590
26Francesco PizziMP Motorsport1:30:634
27Rafael VillagomezJenzer1:30:744
28Konsta LappalainenCharouz1:30:924
29Filip UgranJenzer1:30:960
30Alessandro FamularoCampos1:31:082
Pos.NameTeamLap Time
1Igor FragaHitech GP1:30:091
2Calan WilliamsJenzer1:30:238
3Caio ColletART1:30:259
4Dennis HaugerPREMA1:30:334
5Jonathan HoggardCampos1:30:543
6Arthur LeclercPREMA1:30:564
7Cameron DasCarlin1:30:570
8Frederik VestiART1:30:620
9David BeckmannCharouz1:30:670
10Bent ViscaalMP Motorsport1:30:768
11Oliver RasmussenPREMA1:30:772
12Matteo NanniniHitech GP1:30:832
13Olli CaldwellART1:30:944
14Sophia FloerschHWA Racelab1:31:088
15David VidalesCampos1:31:142
16Enzo FittipaldiHWA Racelab1:31:153
17Filip UgranJenzer1:31:503
18Ido CohenCarlin1:31:700
19Pierre-Louis ChovetHWA Racelab1:31:721
20Nazim AzmanCarlin1:31:793
21Alessandro FamularoCampos1:31:828
22Rafael VillagomezJenzer1:31:858
23Konsta LappalainenCharouz1:31:929
24Francesco PizziMP Motorsport1:32:021
25Jack DoohanTrident1:32:294
26Jak CrawfordHitech GP1:32:426
27Clément NovalakTrident1:32:468
28David SchumacherTrident1:32:715
29Reshad De GerusCharouz1:32:954
30Jonny EdgarMP Motorsport1:32:976
Related posts
Formula 3

Hauger dominates to claim first F3 win

1 Mins read
Redemption for Dennis Hauger who takes his first Formula 3 win in dominant fashion.
Formula 3

Caldwell takes first F3 win as leaders collide. Twice.

2 Mins read
A crazy second half of the race saw the leading pair twice crash out of the race leaving Olli Caldwell there to pick up the pieces and his first F3 win.
Formula 3

Super Smolyar wins first race of the season after late race safety car

2 Mins read
Aleksandr Smolyar made his decisive move early on and he took that all the way to the chequered flag as he won the first F3 race of 2021.

Leave a Reply