Rinus VeeKay Claims First Career Pole for Harvest GP Race 1

2 Mins read
Photo Credit: Chris Jones / Courtesy of IndyCar

Dutch rookie Rinus Veekay will start on the pole for the first race of the IndyCar Harvest GP at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, his first career pole position in the NTT IndyCar Series.

The Ed Carpenter Racing driver put together a lap time of 1:09.690 as a part of the second group of qualifiers. Colton Herta finished second in the group, and will start on the second row in third place.

After finishing on the fringe of the top ten in practice earlier in the day, Marco Andretti put his No. 98 Andretti Herta Autosport with Marco Andretti & Curb Agajanian Honda third in group two with a time of 1:09.714. He will start fifth.

Felix Rosenqvist continued his strong start to the weekend with a top ten qualifying effort to go with his ninth quickest practice spot. The Swede’s lap time of 1:09.800 was fourth fastest in group two, or seventh on the grid.

Like Rosenqvist, Max Chilton and the Carlin team had another top ten spot, finishing fifth in the group to start ninth. Not quite as good as their fifth place practice effort, but nonetheless impressive for the small team.

Group one was the slower of the two groups, due to a red flag with three minutes left in the session. Takuma Sato got beached in the gravel trap between turns three and four, and the long cleanup from gravel being thrown onto the track meant that nobody in the group got to set a fast time on the alternate red-wall Firestone tyres.

Penalized for bringing out a red flag, Sato will start in last place.

Josef Newgarden would top the group with a lap time of 1:10.470, roughly eight tenths slower than polesitter VeeKay. Newgarden’s Team Penkse teammate and GMR Grand Prix polesitter Will Power will start fourth after finishing second in the group.

Jack Harvey, who consistently has strong efforts at IMS, will start sixth in his No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Honda after posting a 1:10.623 lap time, third fastest in the group.

Alexander Rossi would finish the group fourth, the third Andretti Autosport car inside the top ten. He will start eighth.

Rounding out the top ten would be Pato O’Ward in his Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet, bumping points leader Scott Dixon down to sixth in the session and twelfth on the starting grid as title rival Newgarden starts on the front row.

The new faces of Sebastien Bourdais, James Hinchcliffe, and Helio Castroneves will all start sixteenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth respectively.

Race 1 starts tomorrow, 02 October, at 15:30 EST/ 20:30 GMT.

IndyCar Harvest GP Race 1 Qualifying Top Ten

121Rinus VeeKay (R)NEDEd Carpenter Racing01:09.6903
21Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske01:10.4706
388Colton HertaUSAAndretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport01:09.7048
412Will PowerAUSTeam Penske01:10.5686
598Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport w/ Marco Andretti & Curb Agajanian01:09.7140
660Jack HarveyENGMeyer Shank Racing01:10.6234
710Felix RosenqvistSWEChip Ganassi Racing01:09.8007
827Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport01:10.6500
959Max ChiltonENGCarlin01:09.8193
105Pato O’WardMEXArrow McLaren SP01:10.7290
(R) – Rookie
NOTE: Group 2 occupy positions 1,3,5,7 and 9. Group 1 occupy positions 2,4,6,8, and 10.

You can view the full qualifying results here.

Avatar photo
318 posts

About author
Lifelong sports junkie, currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Hofstra University. Lead writer for Indycar at The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
IndyCarNASCAR Cup SeriesOff Road

Parnelli Jones, 1933–2024

2 Mins read
Parnelli Jones, one of the most versatile racers of all time with victories at the Indianapolis 500, Baja 1000, NASCAR Cup Series, among others, died Tuesday after a battle with Parkinson’s.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Newgarden goes back-to-back in thrilling, rain-delayed Indy 500 win over O'Ward

4 Mins read
Josef Newgarden took the high line over Pato O’Ward on the lap 200 to go back-to-back at the Indy 500 for the first time since 2002.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Best Bets: Indy 500

1 Mins read
The Indy 500 returns to Indianapolis for the 108th time. Read here for some of the best bets for Sunday’s race.