Formula 2

Schumacher takes title despite pointless final race, Daruvala earns first win

1 Mins read
Credit: FIA Formula 2

Mick Schumacher is the 2020 FIA Formula 2 Champion after his main title rival Callum Ilott failed to score the necessary points to overturn the German’s advantage.

Schumacher’s race was ruined on the opening lap as he had a huge lock up into turn four trying to avoid Dan Ticktum and the PREMA driver had to pit for new tyres as the vibrations got worse.

That meant that Ilott needed to win to take the championship but the Brit ran out of tyres towards the latter stages of the race and he dropped back through the field to tenth and out of the points.

It was a valiant effort from the UNI-Virtuosi driver who can hold his head high heading into the winter.

The race was won by Jehan Daruvala who stood on the top step of the podium for the first time in F2 after a race-long battle with pole-sitter Ticktum. The Indian made his move decisively with ten laps to go and he never looked back as he led home a Carlin one-two.

That one-two was sealed at the final corner as Yuki Tsunoda, winner of yesterday’s feature race, managed to squeeze by Ticktum who was defending with everything he had to complete a stunning weekend for the Japanese Red Bull junior. He was fastest in practice and qualifying on Friday before his Saturday win and second on Sunday emphasised his speed.

Ticktum settled for third and he was happy to have a podium while someway behind him the battle pack was fierce. Guanyu Zhou came out ahead come the chequered flag ahead of Robert Shwartzman. Ticktum confirmed after the race he would be back in F2 next year and with a good team, although he couldn’t say who.

A late race charge saw Guiliano Alesi equal his best F2 finish in sixth showing some of the potential he had promised when he was signed to Ferrari’s driver academy. He led Luca Ghiotto and Felipe Drugovich over the line to complete the points.

1Jehan DaruvalaCarlin34 Laps
2Yuki TsunodaCarlin+3.561
3Dan TicktumDAMS+3.902
4Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi+5.615
5Robert ShwartzmanPREMA+7.585
6Guiliano AlesiMP Motorsport+9.040
7Luca GhiottoHitech GP+11.093
8Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport+13.878
9Nikita MazepinHitech GP+14.536
10Callum IlottUNI-Virtuosi+16.023
11Pedro PiquetCharouz+16.157
12Christian LundgaardART+17.051
13Louis DelétrazCharouz+20.176
14Marcus ArmstrongART+21.844
15Roy NissanyTrident+23.639
16Marino SatoTrident+26.089
17Sean GelaelDAMS+26.759
18Mick SchumacherPREMA+28.529
19Guilherme SamaiaCampos+35.936
20Artem MarkelovHWA Racelab+59.769
21Théo PourchaireHWA Racelab+1 Lap
22Ralph BoschungCamposDNF (Mechanical)
Related posts
Formula 1Formula 2

Ilott Hoping for Free Practice Outings as Part of Ferrari Reserve Driver Role

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott hopes Ferrari give him opportunities to run in free practice sessions in 2021 as part of his role as reserve driver.
Formula 1Formula 2

Aitken Aiming for Increased Role with Williams but Unsure about 2021 Racing Plans

2 Mins read
Jack Aitken wants to build on his 2020 with Williams and have an increased role with the Grove-based team that gave him his Formula 1 debut in the Sakhir Grand Prix.
Formula 1Formula 2Formula 3Formula 4

Bob Fernley Joins FIA as Head of Single-Seater Commission

2 Mins read
Bob Fernley will replace Stefano Domenicali as the Head of the FIA’s Single-seater Commission from 2021.