Kanaan Fastest as Ganassi Top Practice for Second Consecutive Day

3 Mins read
(Photo Credit: Chris Jones / Courtesy of IndyCar)

2013 Indianapolis 500 winner Tony Kanaan finished the third day of Indy 500 practice at the top of the speed charts, with his lap speed of 225.341 mph set with just under one hour left in the session good enough to take the top spot. Kanaan’s teammate Scott Dixon was fastest in yesterday’s session, marking the second day in a row where Chip Ganassi Racing sat atop the charts at the end of the day.

There was controversy at the beginning of the session, as the three Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing cars of Graham Rahal, Takuma Sato and Santino Ferrucci slowly went across the frontstretch for a photoshoot. Some drivers were able to check up for it, but Andretti Autosport‘s Colton Herta got the information too late and bumped the wall in turn four at full speed and made slight contact with Scott McLaughlin as well. Both cars were okay to continue, but Herta required more time for repairs than Team Penske‘s star rookie.

At the end of the session, IndyCar reprimanded RLLR with a penalty that their cars will have to sit for the first thirty minutes of tomorrow’s Fast Friday session.

The first half of the session was dominated by CGR, with all four of their cars at the top of the charts with Dixon at the top. Ed Carpenter Racing‘s Rinus Veekay was the first to breach the Ganassi stronghold, taking second from Marcus Ericsson with about two and a half hours left in the session. After that, the flood gates opened up to a very diverse top ten.

Conor Daly had his second consecutive second place finish, looking absolutely dialed in this week. He joked that “Old Tony [Kanaan] had to ruin the party” but is very happy with the speed of his No. 47 U.S. Air Force Chevrolet.

Ferrucci finished the session third fastest, but suffered a serious crash with just under two hours left in the session. He lost control of his No. 45 Honda in turn two, spinning and smashing the rear end of the car into the outside wall. The twenty-two-year-old suffered a minor injury to his “left lower extremity” according to Indianapolis Motor Speedway Medical Director Dr. Geoffrey Billows. He has been transported to IU Health Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis for further evaluation.

Josef Newgarden was the fastest of the Penske machines, taking fourth place ahead of his championship rival last year Dixon in fifth. This is the first day of practice that Newgarden has broken into the top ten.

Veekay’s second place speed eventually settled him into sixth place, the second straight day where ECR put three cars in the top ten. Every session so far has seen at least one of their cars in the top ten, namely Daly. They look like legitimate threat so far this month.

Helio Castroneves put his Meyer Shank Racing Honda in the top ten, finishing seventh fastest. Castroneves is hunting down his fourth, and MSR’s first, Borg Warner trophy. His teammate Jack Harvey finished seventeenth.

Ericsson spent much of the early part of the session at the top of the charts in second place, and once again put his No. 8 CGR Honda in the top ten with an eighth place finish.

Reigning Indy 500 champion Sato was very happy with his car at the end of the day, successfully completing all of the programs planned today. He finished the session ninth fastest, and will be forced to sit for the first half an hour tomorrow.

After being caught up in the photoshoot debacle, Herta got his car repaired and put in a lot of running time, rounding out the top ten at the checkered flag. He was the highest placed Andretti car of the day, with Ryan Hunter-Reay the second fastest in twelfth.

For tomorrow’s practice session, the cars will receive an extra boost of power which will make for an exciting Fast Friday that begins at 1200 EST / 1700 BST.

2021 Indianapolis 500 Practice Day 3 Results

148Tony KanaanBRAChip Ganassi Racing225.341
247Conor DalyUSAEd Carpenter Racing225.245
345Santino FerrucciUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing224.922
42Josef NewgardenUSATeam Penske224.885
59Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing224.666
621Rinus VeeKayNEDEd Carpenter Racing224.409
76Helio CastronevesBRAMeyer Shank Racing224.393
88Marcus EricssonSWEChip Ganassi Racing224.273
930Takuma SatoJPNRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing224.232
1026Colton HertaUSAAndretti Autosport223.944
1110Alex PalouESPChip Ganassi Racing223.679
1228Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport223.548
133Scott McLaughlin (R)NZLTeam Penske223.491
145Pato O’WardMEXArrow McLaren SP223.333
1512Will PowerAUSTeam Penske223.23
167Felix RosenqvistSWEArrow McLaren SP223.199
1760Jack HarveyGBRMeyer Shank Racing223.116
1898Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Herta-Haupert w/ Marco & Curb-Agajanian222.623
1918Ed JonesUAEDale Coyne Racing w/ Vasser-Sullivan222.604
2020Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing222.441
2127Alexander RossiUSAAndrett Autosport222.412
2286Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLArrow McLaren SP222.384
2322Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske222.364
244Dalton KellettCANA.J. Foyt Enterprises221.926
2525Stefan WilsonGBRAndretti Autosport221.804
2615Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing221.748
2751Pietro FittipaldiBRADale Coyne Racing w/ Rick Ware Racing221.602
2824Sage KaramUSADreyer & Reinbold Racing221.411
2911Charlie KimballUSAA.J. Foyt Enterprises221.251
301JR HildebrandUSAA.J. Foyt Enterprises221.173
3116Simona De SilvestroSUIParetta Autosport220.911
3229James HinchcliffeCANAndretti Autosport220.822
3359Max ChiltonGBRCarlin220.489
3414Sebastien BourdaisFRAA.J. Foyt Enterprises219.876
3575RC EnersonUSATop Gun Racing217.444
(R) = Rookie
294 posts

About author
Lifelong sports junkie, currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Hofstra University. Lead writer for Indycar at The Checkered Flag.
Related posts

Dixon, Sato Fastest in First Day of Indy 500 Practice

2 Mins read
Scott Dixon and Takuma Sato lead the way on the first day of practice,leading up to the 106th running of the Indianapolis 500.

Colton Herta Wins Wet and Wild GMR Grand Prix

6 Mins read
Colton Herta navigated the chaos on-track and with the weather en route to his first win at the GMR Grand Prix, the first full-wet IndyCar race since 2019.

Will Power wins sixth IMS RC pole with GMR Grand Prix qualifying run

1 Mins read
Chevrolets dominated the GMS Grand Prix’s Fast Six as Callum Ilott and Conor Daly surprised, but Will Power topped the charts on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course (again).