NASCAR Cup Series

Kyle Larson, Tyler Reddick draw poles for All-Star Race, Open

2 Mins read
Credit: Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

Kyle Larson‘s recent string of success extends to random draws as he will start on the pole for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway. Similarly, Tyler Reddick will do the same for the All-Star Open with the hope of transferring into the main race by either winning one of the three stages or the Fan Vote.

Larson enters the exhibition race on a two-race win streak. He won the All-Star in 2019 and Sunday will mark his fifth appearance. All of his participations since 2017 have come after locking himself in via points race win, with the exception in 2016 coming after he won the Open.

Kyle Busch, the 2017 winner, joins Larson on the front row. Busch is guaranteed a spot in the race with all three possible eligibility criteria: a points race winner, a former All-Star winner, and a former Cup champion running the full 2021 schedule.

Seventeen drivers are already locked into the main event. Michael McDowell and Christopher Bell make their All-Star débuts after winning their maiden Cup races at Daytona to start the year. Reigning All-Star champion Chase Elliott drew a sixth-place starting spot.

For the Open, Reddick and Chris Buescher lead the field of twenty-two. Reddick finished tenth in the Open at Bristol last year, while Buescher finished seventeenth in his lone All-Star start in 2017.

The bottom seven are all drivers not running for Cup points. One of such drivers is Austin Cindric, who starts sixteenth as he continues his part-time Cup schedule. Justin Haley, who finished fourteenth in his maiden All-Star Race last year, starts nineteenth. For the first time since the Daytona 500 in FebruaryMBM Motorsports will field two cars as Timmy Hill drives the #66 and David Starr is in the #13; both will start at the back. Hill won the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series race at Texas in 2020, while Starr is a Texas native. All four drivers are entered in the Xfinity Series race on Saturday (though Hill will likely be excluded from the grid based on the qualifying formula).

Ryan Preece and the #37 of JTG Daugherty Racing are not entered. Although Preece has run the full Cup schedule, the #37 does not possess a charter and is thus not required to take part. The car has also faced concerns about its future due to sponsorship issues that threatened to downsize its schedule prior to the season. Instead, Preece will run the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race at Oswego on Saturday.

All-Star Race starting lineup

15Kyle LarsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
218Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
320Christopher BellJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
441Cole CusterStewart-Haas RacingFord
53Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet
69Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
722Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFord
824William ByronHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
92Brad KeselowskiTeam PenskeFord
1019Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
1134Michael McDowellFront Row MotorsportsFord
124Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFord
131Kurt BuschChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
146Ryan NewmanRoush Fenway RacingFord
1548Alex BowmanHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
1611Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
1712Ryan BlaneyTeam PenskeFord

All-Star Open starting lineup

18Tyler ReddickRichard Childress RacingChevrolet
217Chris BuescherRoush Fenway RacingFord
321Matt DiBenedettoWood Brothers RacingFord
447Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
542Ross ChastainChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
623Bubba Wallace23XI RacingToyota
799Daniel SuárezTrackhouse Racing TeamChevrolet
843Erik JonesRichard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet
914Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas RacingFord
1010Aric AlmirolaStewart-Haas RacingFord
117Corey LaJoieSpire MotorsportsChevrolet
1238Anthony AlfredoFront Row MotorsportsFord
1300Quin HouffStarCom RacingChevrolet
1415James DavisonRick Ware RacingChevrolet
1552Josh BilickiRick Ware RacingFord
1633Austin Cindric*Team PenskeFord
1751Cody Ware*Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
1878B.J. McLeodLive Fast MotorsportsFord
1977Justin Haley*Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
2053Garrett Smithley*Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
2166Timmy Hill*MBM MotorsportsToyota
2213David Starr*MBM MotorsportsToyota
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Cup points
1028 posts

About author
History major and lifelong motorsports fan who covers NASCAR and the Stadium Super Trucks.
Related posts
NASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR rules bulletin outlines reduced speeds, safety changes for superspeedway Cup races

1 Mins read
In a rules bulletin released on Tuesday, NASCAR announced Cup cars will be slowed down by about seven to ten miles per hour at superspeedway races as part of safety changes in the wake of Joey Logano’s airbourne wreck at Talladega.
NASCAR Cup Series

Jonathan Hassler takes over as Matt DiBenedetto's crew chief from Greg Erwin

1 Mins read
With Matt DiBenedetto sitting outside the playoff cut-off line, Wood Brothers Racing has replaced crew chief Greg Erwin with Jonathan Hassler effective immediately.
NASCAR Cup SeriesNASCAR Xfinity Series

Kyle Larson on pole for Sonoma, Austin Cindric for Mid-Ohio

4 Mins read
Kyle Larson will be on the pole for the NASCAR Cup Series’ return to Sonoma Raceway, while Austin Cindric will do so for the Xfinity Series’ own trip back to Mid-Ohio.