Formula 2

Lawson grabs first F2 pole in Hitech front row lockout

1 Mins read
Credit: Red Bull Content Pool

Hitech GP showed highly impressive speed in FIA Formula 2 qualifying in Azerbaijan as Liam Lawson secured his first pole position in the category.

The New Zealander edged his teammate Juri Vips by just over a tenth of a second in a dominant session for the British team who have thei first front row lockout in F2.

Vips set a blistering first sector on his best lap but couldn’t hook up the technical middle sector in the same way as his teammate which ultimately cost him pole having looked so good in practice.

Behind the Hitech GP duo came two more rookies with Oscar Piastri in the PREMA third ahead of Théo Pourchaire who shined again in the ART after winning his first F2 race in Monaco two weeks ago.

Dan Ticktum was the best of the second year drivers in fifth putting him in a healthy position for all three races on a track where overtaking is much easier than most street circuits.

Marcus Armstrong will be happy to be sixth given that he led the train of cars on both runs and therefore not benefitting from a tow down the long home straight and it is relief for DAMS who had to withdraw Roy Nissany from the session after his practice crash left the car too damaged to repair in time.

Ralph Boschung had a stunning weekend in Monaco and he qualified in the top ten again in seventh ahead of championship leader Guanyu Zhou who left it late to set his best time.

Jehan Daruvala was ninth fastest and therefore has a front row start for tomorrow’s first sprint race which will see Robert Shwartzman on pole by virtue of the Russian qualifying tenth.

Pos.NameTeamLap Time
1Liam LawsonHitech GP1:54:217
2Juri VipsHitech GP1:54:355
3Oscar PiastriPREMA1:54:508
4Théo PourchaireART1:54:639
5Dan TicktumCarlin1:54:830
6Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:54:914
7Ralph BoschungCampos1:54:962
8Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:55:112
9Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:55:122
10Robert ShwartzmanPREMA1:55:161
11Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:55:173
12Christian LundgaardART1:55:245
13David BeckmannCharouz1:55:336
14Jack AitkenHWA Racelab1:55:651
15Bent ViscaalTrident1:55:658
16Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:55:988
17Matteo NanniniHWA Racelab1:56:463
18Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:56:579
19Marino SatoTrident1:57:539
20Guilherme SamaiaCharouz1:57:793
21Alessio DeleddaHWA Racelab1:58:264
22Roy NissanyDAMSNO TIME
253 posts

About author
If it's got an engine, I've watched it race. F2 and F3 correspondent with a sprinkling of speedway here and there.
Related posts
Formula 2

Vips doubles up to announce title challenge

1 Mins read
No points for Championship leader Guanyu Zhou means the field have closed right back up after Juri Vips’ second win of the weekend.
Formula 2

Vips escapes first corner carnage to claim first F2 win

1 Mins read
An accomplished drive from Vips as championship leader Zhou fails to finish.
Formula 2

Shwartzman cruises to sprint race victory

2 Mins read
A dominant drive from Robert Shwartzman sees him finally take his first win of 2021 as Liam Lawson and Oscar Piastri hit problems.

Leave a Reply