Formula 3

HWA RACELAB Lose FIA Formula 3 License As They Are Replaced By Van Amersfoort Racing

1 Mins read
Credit: Van Amersfoort Racing

FIA Formula 3 have announced the ten teams who will hold a FIA Formula 3 Race License for 2022-2024 with nine of the ten teams being retained whilst HWA RACELAB will not continue in the series being replaced by Dutch powerhouse Van Amersfoort Racing. With ten teams competing the number of drivers will remain the same with thirty drivers set to compete in 2022.

The CEO of FIA Formula 3 Bruno Michel explained his decision to renew nine of the ten teams highlighting key values of their value, maintaining competitive racing, expertise through their experience and the professionalism that all of the nine teams show.

“For the next three-year cycle, we have decided to renew our trust in nine of our current teams. They have been with us for many years now, and they have proven their value, expertise, and professionalism.”

As a result of this, Michel welcomes Van Amersfoort Racing to the grid, highlighting their success in particularly in Formula 4 where they are the current reigning teams champions in ADAC F4 – a series which is seen as one of the ‘primary’ or highest quality Formula 4 series around. On top of this Van Amersfoort have fielded many Formula 1 drivers including some of the most exciting talents around in Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc.

“I would like to welcome Van Amersfoort Racing to the list of selected teams. Their success in other categories make them a nice addition to our grid. I am confident that they will adapt quickly to the demands and challenges of our championship.”

Michel also took the opportunity to thank HWA RACELAB for their years spent in FIA Formula 3 since 2019, during which time they claimed four wins and ten podiums with the likes of Jake Hughes and Matteo Nannini – the two race-winners with the German team.

“Finally, I would like to take this opportunity to thank HWA RACELAB for their commitment to Formula 3 for the past three seasons, during which they claimed four wins and 10 podiums.”

Avatar photo
144 posts

About author
FIA Formula 3 coverage for The Checkered Flag
Related posts
Formula 1Formula 3

McLaren Sign Formula 3 Champion Bortoleto to their Driver Development Programme

1 Mins read
Brazilian racer Gabriel Bortoleto has joined the McLaren Driver Development Programme on the back of his Formula 3 championship winning season.
Formula 1Formula 2Formula 3Formula 4

Christian Horner Hints at ‘Thinning’ of Red Bull Junior Team at end of 2023 Season

1 Mins read
The Red Bull Junior Team, which brought through the likes of Max Verstappen and Sebastian Vettel, is likely to be reduced in number at the end of the 2023 season.
Formula 3

O'Sullivan Clinches Pole in Tricky Wet/Dry F3 Qualifying Session at Hungaroring

2 Mins read
Zak O’Sullivan conquers challenging conditions to claim pole position with a time of 1:31.091 in the FIA Formula 3 qualifying at Hungaroring. Bortoleto to start ninth, Mini takes the reverse grid pole for the feature race.