NASCAR Cup Series

Homestead honouring Harvick with 4EVER 400

1 Mins read
Credit: Homestead-Miami Speedway

As Kevin Harvick prepares for his twenty-third and final start at Homestead-Miami Speedway as a full-time NASCAR Cup Series regular, the track is honouring him by renaming the race on 22 October to the “4EVER 400 presented by Mobil 1“. The presenting sponsor is a close backer of Stewart-Haas Racing and Harvick’s #4 team.

Harvick won at Homestead in 2014 to clinch his maiden championship. At the time, Homestead served as the final race of the season.

“Homestead-Miami Speedway will always hold a special place for me since it’s where I won the championship in my first season with Stewart-Haas Racing,” said Harvick. “It’s truly an honour to have Mobil 1 by my side to celebrate my career with the 4EVER 400 presented by Mobil 1.”

Various legends have had similar recognition in their final seasons. Homestead renamed its turn three tunnel to “Jimmie Johnson’s Southernmost Tunnel” in 2020, while Johnson’s team-mate Jeff Gordon’s send-off year saw Phoenix Raceway change its name to “Jeff Gordon Raceway” for his last start there in 2015.

Ironically, Phoenix might have been a more appropriate location to pay tribute to Harvick; he has dominated the track with nine wins and has finished in the top ten in every race there since 2013. Phoenix is currently the season finale, assuming the role from Homestead in 2020.

“It’s really special to honor Kevin Harvick with the 4EVER 400 presented by Mobil 1, and it’s a testament to the legacy he will leave for future drivers in the sport for years to come,” added Homestead track president Al Garcia. “Harvick cemented his place in the sport’s history at our track in taking the checkered flag and the Cup Series championship here a decade ago. We are thrilled to honour him and his racing legacy at the track where it all began.”

Harvick is currently fourteenth in points.

Avatar photo
3339 posts

About author
Justin is neither a NASCAR nor off-road racer, but he has covered them for The Checkered Flag since 2018.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR wins Dino Toso Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year Award for Le Mans programme

1 Mins read
NASCAR’s R&D engineers received the Dino Toso Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year Award for their successful 24 Hours of Le Mans entry.
NASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR signs massive new television deal for 2025 onwards

1 Mins read
The NASCAR Cup Series will have a lucrative TV deal from 2025 to 2031 that retains FOX and NBC, brings back TNT, and adds Amazon Prime Video and Bleacher Report.
NASCAR Cup Series

RFK Racing creates Stage 60, debuting at Daytona

2 Mins read
Ford now has its own “all-star” car in the form of RFK Racing’s Stage 60, which will run its first race at the Daytona 500 with David Ragan.