FIA announce European Touring Car Cup changes

The FIA have announced changes to the European Touring Car Cup ahead of the 2010 season.

Run as a one-off event since 2005, it will be switching to a four-event series, including two 50km races per event, with a 400,000 Euro prize awarded to the winner of the series.

The cars eligible to take part will remain the same that are currently accepted: Super 2000, Super 1600 and Super Production.

The dates are as follows, with the circuits set to be revealed at the WTCC event in Macau.

2010 FIA European Touring Car Cup calendar

28 March
– Portugal
6 June – Germany
11 July – Austria
17 October – Italy

“A series of four events will help to cover the whole European territory, making it easier for the teams to take part in all or selected events. The aim is also to strengthen the ties between the National Championships that adopt the FIA technical regulations,” KSO General Manager Marcello Lotti explained.