Ginetta Junior

Ginetta Juniors head to Thruxton with 20 entries

2 Mins read

20 cars are lined up ready for the start of the 2010 Ginetta Junior Championship, which runs alongside the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

The 2010 season will see the new Ginetta G40 introduced to replace the old G20 Junior, a move that so far has had a positive reaction from teams and drivers.

2009 Champion Sarah Moore returns to defend her crown with new team Team Eurotech. Team Eurotech are new to the Ginetta Junior Championship but are one of the most experienced outfits in the series. They will also run Andrew Jordan in the BTCC, and the added incentive for 2010 is a test with the Pirtek Racing team in their BTCC Vectra for the Champion of the Ginetta Junior Championship.

With the introduction of the new car into the series for 2010, there has also been an influx of new teams entering, some with experience of running cars in other Championships. Porsche Carrera Cup GB leading outfit Team Parker Racing have entered 3 cars for the returning Chris Swanwick (Nottingham) and Adam Bonham (Kibworth) as well as debutant Finlay Ractliffe (Monmouth) while front running Elf Renault Clio Cup team JHR Developments have signed the rapid Jake Hill to spearhead their championship challenge.

2009 Champions Tockwith Motorsport return with William Foster and Maverick Domene, both drivers are new to the Championship. David Moore, the younger brother of Champion Sarah, returns for a second season in the Championship.

Norfolk based TJ Motorsport, the team who took Jake Cook to second in 2009 return with 3 cars for returning drivers Tom Howard (Dereham) and Louise Richardson (Grantham) as well as debutant Jody Fannin (South Godstone).

One of the most impressive youngsters from 2009, Tom Ingram, has returned but in a privateer G40, but will be a front runner in the series.

In total, 10 of the 2009 field have returned for 2010, with 10 debutants, the youngsters drivers on the grid always produce exciting race action, the 2010 series is all shaped up for an exciting season.

The 2010 Ginetta Junior Entry List:

Race Number Name Town Entrant / Team
1 Sarah Moore Tockwith Eurotech Racing
2 Jake Hill Goudhurst JHR Developments
3 Chris Swanwick Nottingham Team Parker Racing
4 Adam Bonham Kibworth Team Parker Racing
5 Matthew Wrigley Matlock Tollbar
7 Jake Giddings Wisbech FML
8 Finlay Ractliffe Monmouth Team Parker Racing
20 Tom Howard Dereham TJ Motorsport
22 Patrick McClughan Newtownabbey Tranzpower
25 Louise Richardson Grantham TJ Motorsport
27 Jody Fannin South Godstone TJ Motorsport
31 Seb Morris Wrexham Hillspeed
33 Ryan Ratcliffe Swansea Piranha Motorsport
41 William Foster Leeds Tockwith
51 Alex Austin Wolviston FML
69 Maverick Domene Leeds Tockwith
71 Max Coates Richmond Privateer
77 David Moore Tockwith Tockwith
80 Tom Ingram High Wycombe Privateer
84 Brad Bailey Maldon Brad Bailey Racing

The Championship will feature 20 races over 10 race weekends, alongside the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship. The season starts this weekend at Thruxton, Hampshire, with a brace of 9 lap races. The opening race starts at 17.05 on Saturday, with the second race of the weekend being shown live on ITV4, as part of the live BTCC coverage. The race starts at 13.30.

Related posts
BTCCF4 British ChampionshipGinetta GT4 SupercupGinetta JuniorMINI ChallengePorsche Carrera Cup GBPorsche Sprint Challenge GB

TOCA announces August start for 2020 BTCC and support categories' season

1 Mins read
TOCA has unveiled a tentative 27-race calendar for the 2020 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship and all support categories, set to begin in August
Ginetta Junior

Ginetta Junior Front-Runners Name 2020 Line-Ups

2 Mins read
Leading Michelin Ginetta Junior Championship squads Elite Motorsport and R Racing will run 11 cars between them this season.
FIA WECGinetta G50Ginetta GT4 SupercupGinetta GT5 ChallengeGinetta JuniorGinetta Junior IrelandGinetta Series

Shoot-Out for Ginetta Factory Drive

1 Mins read
Ginetta have announced a new competition for young drivers to win a factory development driver role.

Leave a Reply