GP2 Series

Davide Valsecchi steals Istanbul pole

1 Mins read

Davide Valsecchi once again put in a blinding last lap to take top spot in a session – it was free practise yesterday, this time he stole pole away from Pastor Maldonado and Oliver Turvey.

After the first round of qualifying laps Maldonado looked to have everything under control by setting a 1:34.875 with under 10 minutes left in the session, but his final crack at pole fell short, and simply had to wait for everyone else to post new times.

Turvey looked like he was struggling to make the Top 10 for much of the session, after rather worryingly suffering a sticking throttle but suddenly jumped up to third with only seconds to spare, with 3rd all the way down to 15th only covered by 7 tenths of a second.

“Today was perfect, the car was incredibly fast,” said an elated Valsecchi. “The engineers did a good job because between the first and second run they made the car quick enough for pole. It was really good in the last few minutes of qualifying.”

Qualifying Results

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Davide Valsecchi     iSport              1m34.860s
 2.  Pastor Maldonado     Rapax               1m34.875s  + 0.015s
 3.  Oliver Turvey        iSport              1m35.135s  + 0.275s
 4.  Sergio Perez         Barwa Addax         1m35.194s  + 0.334s
 5.  Sam Bird             ART                 1m35.267s  + 0.407s
 6.  Giedo van der Garde  Barwa Addax         1m35.348s  + 0.488s
 7.  Dani Clos            Racing Engineering  1m35.364s  + 0.504s
 8.  Charles Pic          Arden               1m35.411s  + 0.551s
 9.  Alberto Valerio      Coloni              1m35.491s  + 0.631s
10.  Luiz Razia           Rapax               1m35.527s  + 0.667s
11.  Christian Vietoris   Racing Engineering  1m35.664s  + 0.804s
12.  Jules Bianchi        ART                 1m35.676s  + 0.816s
13.  Giacomo Ricci        DPR                 1m35.750s  + 0.890s
14.  Michael Herck        DPR                 1m35.762s  + 0.902s
15.  Max Chilton          Ocean               1m35.842s  + 0.982s
16.  Jerome D'Ambrosio    DAMS                1m35.926s  + 1.066s
17.  Josef Kral           Super Nova          1m35.955s  + 1.095s
18.  Adrian Zaugg         Trident             1m35.957s  + 1.097s
19.  Marcus Ericsson      Super Nova          1m35.973s  + 1.113s
20.  Johnny Cecotto       Trident             1m36.047s  + 1.187s
21.  Fabio Leimer         Ocean               1m36.167s  + 1.307s
22.  Vlado Arabadjiev     Coloni              1m36.564s  + 1.704s
23.  Rodolfo Gonzalez     Arden               1m36.628s  + 1.768s
24.  Ho-Pin Tung          DAMS                1m36.663s  + 1.803s
450 posts

About author
Alasdair Lindsay is a Regular Contributor to TCF and can be found on twitter at @AlasdairLindsay
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.