VW Racing Cup

Fuller joins the action as VW Cup hits Rockingham

2 Mins read

Teenager Howard Fuller is set to make his debut in the Volkswagen Racing Cup with Fuchs Lubricants as the series heads to Rockingham on the 17/18 July. A regular in the Formula Palmer Audi series, the youngster will be switching from his single seater to a RacingLine-run Golf GTI.

As a former competitor in the BRSCC's T-Car series, the switch to tin tops won't be an alien experience for Howard. “T-Cars was superb training and although I'm having a fantastic time in FPA I'm really interested in racing in saloons again,” says Fuller. “As I've never raced at Rockingham before, this was an ideal opportunity. I was blown away when I tested the Golf – I wasn't expecting it to be so quick and so good. I'm very impressed by the whole set-up.” The seventeen year old, who is a Motorsport student at Brooklands College, will be hoping to make a good impression on his series debut.

Fuller will not be the only debutant on the grid next weekend as the championship continues to attract a host of new drivers, such as Martyn Walsh, who will make his debut in a AWM-prepared Golf GTI. Meanwhile Rockingham instructor and local resident Doug Ross will also be making his seasonal debut in his Polo GTI.

As they head to Rockingham, it's Steve Chaplin who heads the championship. Despite not winning a race yet, last years championship runner up Chaplin holds an 18-point advantage at the top of the standings, after finishing on the podium in every race so far. He will be hoping to take his 'Herbie'-liveried Beetle to victory at the Rock.

Golf GTI driver Didge Dziurzynski led the standings after the opening rounds at Oulton Park, courtesy of a win and a second place, but a problematic weekend at Zandvoort has seen him drop to seventh in the standings. The other race winner at Oulton was Peter Felix, his maiden victory in the series, with fellow Golf GTI driver Aaron Mason picking up his first ever VW Cup win at Zandvoort. Richard Walker became the fourth different winner in four races with victory in the second race at Zandvoort in his Mk V Golf GTI.

As well as Chaplin and the four different race winners so far, there are plenty of other potential race winners for Rockingham. These include Golf GTI drivers Sam Edwards and James Walker, second and fifth in the championship standings respectively, as well as Scirocco drivers Kieran Griffin and Mike Kurton, who both sit in the top six of the championship.

One to look out for at Rockingham will be the youngest competitor in the field, 16-year-old Zoe Wenham. She made a promising debut in the series at Zandvoort in her KPM Racing Polo, despite mechanical problems leaving her unable to finish a race, and she will be looking to move up the field at Rockingham, a track she knows well.

With a host of different winners already, the Volkswagen Racing Cup with Fuchs Lubricants is proving its competitive and unpredictable nature. With such a wide variety of drivers and cars gunning for victory, fans can look forward to two more exciting, action packed races at Rockingham.

Provisional Championship Standings after Round 4
1  Steve Chaplin  Beetle RSI  158
2  Sam Edwards  Golf GTI  140
3  Aaron Mason  Golf GTI  132
4  Kieran Griffin  Scirocco R  130
5  James Walker  Golf GTI  122
6  Mike Kurton  Scirocco R  120

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
InterviewsVW Racing Cup

2018 Champion Jamie Bond: "We've Probably had the Worst Year Ever"

3 Mins read
Jamie Bond spoke to TCF about his rollercoaster year in the Volkswagen Racing Cup, where he clinched the title last weekend.
VW Racing Cup

Bond Narrowly Clinches VW Cup After Dramatic Finale at Donington

3 Mins read
Jamie Bond beat Ruaridh Clark by 12 points to secure the VW Racing Cup in 2018, while Josh Coggan starred at Donington.
VW Racing Cup

Bond Pulls Away in VW Cup Title Fight after Croft

3 Mins read
Jamie Bond was the man to watch at Croft, extending his championship lead, while Mark Wakefield recorded his first VW win.

Leave a Reply