GP3 Series

Muller Shows 2011 Intentions By Topping First Day In Estoril

1 Mins read

Jenzer Motorsport driver Nico Muller showed his ability to be the next GP3 champion by topping the timesheets in both sessions on the first day of the Estoril test.

Muller was one of the most impressive drivers in the inaugural season, finishing third in the standings. He has since resigned with Jenzer, saying his aim is the 2011 title.

Roberto Merhi, who had switched to Addax for the test, was quickest for much of the morning session, before Muller set his fastest time with a few minutes remaining. Miki Monras finished the session second, also with Addax, while James Calado was the fastest rookie in third, driving for ART Grand Prix.

The rookies started to find their feet in the afternoon session, with Manor Racing's Conor Daly top of the timesheets for much of the session. The more experienced drivers rose to the top near the end though, Muller setting his quickest time of the day to top the session again. Tamas Pal Kiss was the quickest rookie in the afternoon session, third quickest overall behind Muller and Merhi.

Combined Results

Pos # Driver Team Time
1 25 Nico Muller Jenzer Motorsport 1:32,198
2 19 Roberto Mehri Addax Team 1:32,201
3 30 Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP 1:32,218
4 10 Nigel Melker RSC Mucke 1:32,286
5 4 Michael Christensen Status Grand Prix 1:32,294
6 8 Adrien Tambay Manor Racing 1:32,312
7 1 James Calado ART Grand Prix 1:32,406
8 31 Marlon Stockinger Atech CRS GP 1:32,471
9 16 Antonio Felix da Costa Carlin 1:32,502
10 15 Josef Newgarden Carlin 1:32,511
11 24 Zoel Amberg Jenzer Motorsport 1:32,571
12 17 Miki Monras Addax Team 1:32,600
13 7 Conor Daly Manor Racing 1:32,622
14 29 Nick Yelloly Atech CRS GP 1:32,657
15 18 Adriano Buzaid Addax Team 1:32,678
16 22 Mitch Evans MW Arden 1:32,714
17 28 Aaro Vainio Tech 1 Racing 1:32,736
18 5 Dean Smith Status Grand Prix 1:32,799
19 3 Pedro Nunes ART Grand Prix 1:32,810
20 26 Doru Sechelariu Tech 1 Racing 1:32,924
21 23 Vittorio Ghirelli Jenzer Motorsport 1:32,962
22 21 Simon Trummer MW Arden 1:33,007
23 12 Willi Steindl RSC Mucke 1:33,010
24 20 Matias Laine MW Arden 1:33,034
25 14 Rupert Svendsen-Cook Carlin 1:33,088
26 9 Thomas Hylkema Manor Racing 1:33,157
27 2 Rio Haryanto ART Grand Prix 1:33,167
28 27 Hugo Valente Tech 1 Racing 1:33,234
29 6 Kotaro Sakurai Status Grand Prix 1:35,357
30 11 Andrina Gugger RSC Mucke 1:35,520
Related posts
GP3 SeriesPorsche Carrera Cup Australia

Joey Mawson set for guest entry for Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

1 Mins read
Upcoming single-seater racer explores sports car options in F1 supporting Porsche Carrera Cup race.
GP3 Series

Giuliano Alesi: "Sometime it Went Good, Sometimes Bad, But I Always Learned From Them"

2 Mins read
Giuliano Alesi looks back on his 2018 GP3 Series, as he prepares for a Formula 2 test this week.
GP3 Series

Ilott Claims Third in GP3 Standings

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott rounds off a strong rookie season in the GP3 Series with third in the championship.

Leave a Reply