Williamson Tops Day 2 In Estoril On His GP3 Debut

British driver Lewis Williamson surprised the GP3 Series field by topping the timesheets on day two of the post-season test in Estoril, on only his first day driving the car.

Formula Renault UK runner-up Williamson joined up with Atech CRS for the second day for the test, one of a few driver changes from the first day, which was topped by Nico Muller. Williamson took the seat vacated by Marlon Stockinger, who replaced Muller at Jenzer Motorsport. Rio Haryanto returned to his regular team Manor Racing, and was replaced at ART Grand Prix by Matias Laine, who moved across from MW Arden. Ivan Lukashevich joined the test with his team Status GP. Miki Monras moved over to Tech 1 Racing, and was replaced at Addax by Antonio Felix Da Costa, who in turn was replaced by debutant Richard Bradley at Carlin. Julian Leal replaced Adriano Buzaid at Addax, and Formula BMW Europe champion Robin Frijns replaced Laine at Arden.

James Calado carried across his impressive form from Day 1 to set the early pace in the morning, but it was Felix Da Costa who ended the morning on top with his new team Addax. Calado ended up second, ahead of Nigel Melker.

Felix Da Costa led for much of the afternoon, but Williamson found his way to the top of the standings before the end of the day. Melker ended the session second, with Felix Da Costa in third. Michael Christensen was fourth for Status, with rookie Willi Steindl in fifth and Pedro Nunes in sixth.

Combined Times

Pos Car # Driver Team Time
1 31 Lewis Williamson Atech CRS GP 1:31,432
2 17 Antonio Felix da Costa Addax Team 1:31,627
3 1 James Calado ART Grand Prix 1:31,659
4 10 Nigel Melker RSC Muecke 1:31,672
5 4 Michael Christensen Status Grand Prix 1:31,843
6 3 Pedro Nunes ART Grand Prix 1:31,924
7 12 Willi Steindl RSC Muecke 1:31,945
8 2 Matias Laine ART Grand Prix 1:32,004
9 19 Roberto Mehri Addax Team 1:32,030
10 15 Josef Newgarden Carlin 1:32,044
11 7 Conor Daly Manor Racing 1:32,052
12 22 Mitch Evans MW Arden 1:32,062
13 29 Nick Yelloly Atech CRS GP 1:32,068
14 20 Robin Frijns MW Arden 1:32,086
15 24 Zoel Amberg Jenzer Motorsport 1:32,143
16 21 Simon Trummer MW Arden 1:32,151
17 30 Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP 1:32,159
18 25 Marlon Stockinger Jenzer Motorsport 1:32,182
19 18 Julian Leal Addax Team 1:32,208
20 28 Miki Monras Tech 1 Racing 1:32,526
21 23 Vittorio Ghirelli Jenzer Motorsport 1:32,534
22 26 Doru Sechelariu Tech 1 Racing 1:32,560
23 27 Hugo Valente Tech 1 Racing 1:32,659
24 8 Rio Haryanto Manor Racing 1:32,707
25 9 Thomas Hylkema Manor Racing 1:32,751
26 5 Ivan Lukashevich Status Grand Prix 1:32,779
27 6 Kotaro Sakurai Status Grand Prix 1:32,991
28 14 Rupert Svendsen-Cook Carlin 1:33,066
29 16 Richard Bradley Carlin 1:33,188
30 11 Andrina Gugger RSC Muecke 1:33,768