Murray Wins Inaugural Irish Junior Championship

Niall Murray has secured the 2010 Ginetta Junior Ireland Championship, the first ever winner of the new series. Victory in Round 8 at Mondello Park, the penultimate race of the season, sealed the title for 15 year old Murray, beating rivals Andy O'Brien and Joel Richardson to the crown.

After years of success with the British Junior series, Ginetta decided to introduce the series to Ireland in 2010, with it becoming the first junior racing series in the country. Racing in the G20 model, the young drivers competed in nine rounds at two Irish venues, Mondello Park and Kirkistown.

It was Murray, from Firhouse, Co.Dublin, who came out on top, taking six victories on his way to the crown. The youngster showed a great blend of speed and consistency to take the title, dominating the series from the opening round.

Despite being just 15, Murray came into the season with a fair share of racing experience. After starting out in Karting, moving through the ranks from Cadet Karts, the youngster moved into Junior Rallycross, finishing second in the Jondol Junior Rallycross championship in 2009. With his father Joe Murray involved in bringing the Ginetta Junior series, it seemed a natural progression for Niall to take part of the series with his Murray Motorsport outfit, and he did so to great effect.

Fans of the British series will be able to see Murray competing in 2011, with his prize for winning the championship being a part funded drive in the 2011 British Ginetta Junior Championship from Ginetta Cars UK.

The Ginetta Junior Ireland championship was sponsored by and supported by Michelin Tyres.